Swansea MSc Health Data Science
Swansea University · Swansea University Medical School · Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom- 1 Year
- Full-time
- Campus Based, Singleton Park Campus
Tuition, nine-month UKVI evidence, visa and health surcharge
September 2027 fee
full-time route
course entry rule
UK 2.2 equivalent
course profile controls
Singleton Park Campus
What is Swansea MSc Health Data Science?
Swansea MSc Health Data Science is a 1 year, full-time programme in health datasets, statistics, informatics, governance and applied analysis. The September 2027 international tuition is GBP 24,100, and the minimum funding checkpoint shown here is INR 46.21 lakh. Teaching takes place at Singleton Park Campus.
At Singleton Park Campus, the published route runs for 1 year and the module table totals 180 UK credits. Fees and entry rules here belong to the September 2027 full-time cycle.
What funding checkpoint applies to Swansea MSc Health Data Science?
The September 2027 course page states tuition of GBP 24,100. The outside-London visa rule adds nine months of maintenance evidence, not a full-year living budget. The subtotal below also includes the visa and health charges, so it is a funding checkpoint rather than a complete spending forecast.
| Item | INR | Local currency | When it is due |
|---|---|---|---|
| International tuition | INR 30.63 lakh | GBP 24,100 | September 2027 full-time fee |
| UKVI maintenance funds | INR 13.39 lakh | GBP 10,539 | GBP 1,171 for nine months |
| Student visa application | INR 0.71 lakh | GBP 558 | Current application charge |
| Immigration health surcharge | INR 1.48 lakh | GBP 1,164 | Planning basis for this route |
| Charges and visa-evidence subtotal | INR 46.21 lakh | GBP 36,361 | Not a twelve-month living-cost forecast |
The nine-month maintenance amount is evidence of funds, not a Swansea charge, a full-year living budget or a spending guarantee. INR values use GBP 1 = INR 127.0981, the Bank of England spot observation for 23 October 2026. Bank margins and later fee changes are excluded.
The official course page gives one controlling September 2027 international tuition figure of GBP 24,100. The plan does not replace it with a faculty average or a cheaper UK fee.
The maintenance row uses the current outside-London Student route minimum of GBP 1,171 a month for up to nine months. It is a visa evidence floor rather than a twelve-month forecast that rent, food and transport will fit within GBP 10,539.
The subtotal excludes living costs beyond the nine-month evidence period, flights, refundable housing deposits, optional materials and foreign-exchange margins. Swansea currently lists a GBP 4,000 Thrive Bursary for eligible self-funded postgraduate students domiciled in India, but only a written award should be deducted.
The Bank of England observation is a dated conversion checkpoint; it won’t protect the budget from later currency movement or bank charges.
The UKCISA financial-evidence guidance explains that supporting money documents must meet specific rules. This subtotal can’t guarantee that a bank record satisfies them.
Can an Indian applicant meet Swansea MSc Health Data Science entry rules?
The programme page sets a 2:2 academic threshold and the additional conditions shown below. Swansea’s India equivalence table maps that level to 55% or CGPA 6.1/10 for a minimum three-year bachelor’s degree. The English evidence policy applies alongside the exact programme score.
| Requirement | Published rule | What you do |
|---|---|---|
| Academic preparation for the course (India) | At least a 2:2, or overseas equivalent, in a quantitative discipline such as Mathematics, Statistics, Computing, Engineering, Physics or Biomedical science (including epidemiology, biological sciences or medicine). The degree must have had significant statistical and computational elements or a health data/medical background. | Identify modules and projects that support health datasets, statistics, informatics, governance and applied analysis |
| Indian grade evidence (India) | 55% or CGPA 6.1/10 | Supply the complete marksheets used to assess MSc Health Data Science |
| English condition for this route (India) | 6.5 overall, 6.0 in each component | Meet the exact overall and component rule attached to MSc Health Data Science |
| Course-specific checks (India) | Relevant experience in health data science or a related field may be accepted instead of a degree and must be evidenced in the application. The official induction guidance says remote starting is not possible and missing the first module may require deferral; its year-specific dates must be rechecked for the 2027 intake. The course page describes health-data, NHS, government, consultancy and research careers but does not state that the MSc confers clinical registration or guarantees an NHS placement. | Address every named condition with the required evidence before enrolment |
For MSc Health Data Science, annotate the transcript around coursework or projects that demonstrate health datasets, statistics, informatics, governance and applied analysis; the grade conversion cannot supply missing subject evidence.
English proof is a separate condition for this route. The programme page states IELTS 6.5 overall, 6.0 in each component. The offer letter, rather than a general assumption about prior medium of instruction, is the final checklist.
Three checks that decide an Indian file
Equivalence and subject fit are different decisions
The 55% or CGPA 6.1/10 line establishes Swansea’s grade comparison. It does not remove any subject, experience or professional condition written for MSc Health Data Science.
A three-year bachelor's is accepted for equivalence
Swansea’s India table expressly covers a bachelor’s degree of at least three years. The complete transcript still has to show the programme-specific preparation.
The course profile and offer control English evidence
The programme page states IELTS 6.5 overall, 6.0 in each component. Any alternative or medium-of-instruction claim has to meet Swansea’s current evidence policy and the conditions in the offer.
Programme-specific conditions must be evidenced
Relevant experience in health data science or a related field may be accepted instead of a degree and must be evidenced in the application. The official induction guidance says remote starting is not possible and missing the first module may require deferral; its year-specific dates must be rechecked for the 2027 intake. The course page describes health-data, NHS, government, consultancy and research careers but does not state that the MSc confers clinical registration or guarantees an NHS placement.
How should an Indian student apply for Swansea MSc Health Data Science?
The September 2027 deadline table sets 28 July for applications, 16 August for documents and 20 August for deposits. Swansea’s application guidance directs residents of eight named Indian states and Pondicherry through a contracted agent. The course page confirms this full-time route.
Course check, international application, offer conditions, CAS, Student visa and enrolment
| Start by | Task | Takes | Why this date |
|---|---|---|---|
| 27 Mar 2027 | Resolve academic fit | 14 days | Map the degree, marks and subject preparation to the course rule. |
| 10 Apr 2027 | Complete English evidence | 42 days | Allow time for score reporting and one retake. |
| 01 May 2027 | Prepare the academic file | 21 days | Collect marksheets, degree certificate, passport and programme evidence. |
| 22 May 2027 | Submit the international application | 7 days | Use the active 2027 route and answer requests for more information. |
| 29 May 2027 | Meet offer and visa conditions | 60 days | Complete conditions before relying on CAS, housing or travel dates. |
The allowances are Nbyula planning estimates, not processing times published by Swansea University.
The strongest application evidence connects earlier work to health datasets, statistics, informatics, governance and applied analysis. It should explain why the named Swansea modules solve a specific gap rather than repeat the university’s general reputation.
Swansea states the restricted route directly.
"Swansea University is only able to process applications received via one of our contracted agents."Swansea postgraduate application guidance
The named Indian states and Pondicherry in the guidance determine when that route applies.
Upload complete and legible academic records, with official translations where needed. If the contracted-agent rule applies to the applicant’s Indian state or territory, start through that route rather than submitting directly. An application remains incomplete while requested evidence is outstanding.
After an offer, meet every academic and English condition before depending on a CAS date. Housing and travel commitments should allow for the Student visa timetable rather than the hoped-for decision date.
Swansea says it cannot consider direct applications from residents of Andhra Pradesh, Gujarat, Haryana, Punjab, Tamil Nadu (including Pondicherry), Telangana, Uttar Pradesh and Uttarakhand; use an agent listed by the University.
A programme can close earlier or use a stated exception. Submit before the standard date and treat a direct University notice as authoritative.
What can follow Swansea MSc Health Data Science?
The published curriculum supports work towards roles such as health-data analyst, informatics researcher or evidence specialist. The Graduate route rules give 18 months to an eligible master’s graduate applying from 1 January 2027. Neither source supplies a verified course-specific hiring probability.
| Measure | Figure | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| Work produced in MSc Health Data Science | Bioinformatics for Genome Analysis; Introductory Analysis of Linked Health Data; final project | Assessment tied to health datasets, statistics, informatics, governance and applied analysis |
| Roles related to health datasets | health-data analyst, informatics researcher or evidence specialist | Interpretation of the MSc Health Data Science curriculum, not a placement promise |
| UK timing after MSc Health Data Science | 18-month Graduate route for an eligible application | Immigration permission from January 2027; no employer guarantee for health-data analyst, informatics researcher or evidence specialist |
The health-data analyst, informatics researcher or evidence specialist direction is an interpretation of the published curriculum, not evidence of recruitment, pay, sponsorship or professional registration.
Translate each assessment into a claim you can substantiate: the method used, the judgement made, and the result delivered. This is how MSc Health Data Science becomes more than a line on a CV.
The 18-month Graduate route is relevant to timing after study, not to the probability of receiving an offer. A later sponsored route has its own employer and role tests.
The QAA master’s characteristics statement distinguishes research, specialised or advanced, and professional or practice awards. A master’s title doesn’t by itself establish a particular job or professional status.
Who is a good fit for Swansea MSc Health Data Science?
The published course conditions support this fit test: This MSc fits a quantitatively prepared graduate who wants to apply programming, statistics and machine learning to linked health data. Academic readiness, funding, and the intended use of assessed work still need separate evidence before the programme belongs on a shortlist.
| Verdict | Your background | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Strong fit | Evidence connected to Bioinformatics for Genome Analysis and health datasets, statistics, informatics, governance and applied analysis | Direct preparation for assessed work in MSc Health Data Science |
| Needs evidence | Adjacent study with documented preparation for Introductory Analysis of Linked Health Data | Swansea still decides whether that preparation is sufficient for MSc Health Data Science |
| Do not shortlist | A career plan contradicted by the limits of MSc Health Data Science | Check the published professional and curriculum limits against the intended role |
A strong file names the earlier assignment, project, or job that prepares the applicant for health datasets, statistics, informatics, governance and applied analysis. It also states what new evidence MSc Health Data Science should produce.
An adjacent background is plausible only when transferable methods are explicit. Admissions should not have to guess how broad enthusiasm becomes readiness for Bioinformatics for Genome Analysis or Introductory Analysis of Linked Health Data.
Reject the choice when the intended role needs a professional status, placement or curriculum promise that Swansea has not published for this course.
What does the Swansea MSc Health Data Science syllabus contain?
The official module catalogue publishes the complete named menu below for the full-time route. Available module codes, credits, statuses and teaching blocks are retained without merging them into invented subject buckets. The selection rules show which combinations form the published 180-credit master’s route.
Published module menu
| Code | Component | UK credits | Where it sits |
|---|---|---|---|
| PMGM00 | Bioinformatics for Genome Analysis | 20 | September-January (TB1) |
| PMIM302 | Introductory Analysis of Linked Health Data | 20 | September-January (TB1) |
| PMIM502 | Health Data Visualisation | 20 | September-January (TB1) |
| PMIM702 | Health Data Dissertation | 60 | Academic Year |
| PMIM102 | Programming Skills in Health Data Science | 20 | January-June (TB2) |
| PMIM202 | Statistics for Health Data Science | 20 | January-June (TB2) |
| PMIM402 | Machine Learning in Healthcare | 20 | January-June (TB2) |
| Total | 180 |
- The one-year September MSc lists seven compulsory modules totalling 180 credits, including the 60-credit Health Data Dissertation; there is no optional module choice in that MSc route.
- The source also publishes distinct PGDip/PGCert and January-start structures; those structures are separate from the September MSc shown here.
- The live course and module catalogues control if a title, status, credit value or teaching block changes.
The named components show how the programme develops health datasets, statistics, informatics, governance and applied analysis. The final project or dissertation then tests independent work rather than taught-module performance alone.
The row status records whether a module is compulsory, optional, a project or a zero-credit requirement. Follow the published selection rule instead of adding every visible option into a false total.
Module availability can change before registration. Recheck the live catalogue after an offer and use the confirmed selection when planning workload or professional exemptions.
Should an Indian student shortlist Swansea MSc Health Data Science?
Shortlist it when the published course structure matches prior evidence and a defined need for health datasets, statistics, informatics, governance and applied analysis. Swansea does not publish a verified programme placement rate or salary series, so curriculum fit matters more than a broad outcome claim.
Choose MSc Health Data Science for its work in health datasets, statistics, informatics, governance and applied analysis, not for the degree title alone. The programme can produce assessable evidence, while employer conversion and pay remain unreported at course level. The decision is strongest when assessed work addresses a documented gap before applications for the intended roles.
Do not apply on the assumption that this warning will disappear after graduation: The one-year route is technically intensive, and a late arrival can force deferral because Swansea does not permit a remote start. Also stress-test the INR 46.21 lakh plan before adding travel, deposits, or currency risk.
- MSc Health Data Science is full-time for September 2027 and lasts 1 year.
- The September 2027 international tuition is GBP 24,100.
- The charges-and-visa-evidence subtotal is GBP 36,361, about INR 46.21 lakh; it is not a twelve-month living-cost forecast.
- The academic offer is 2:2, mapped for India to 55% or CGPA 6.1/10.
- The programme page states IELTS 6.5 overall, 6.0 in each component.
- The main caution is specific. The one-year route is technically intensive, and a late arrival can force deferral because Swansea does not permit a remote start.
Frequently asked questions
Is Swansea MSc Health Data Science full-time for 2027?
Yes. Swansea lists a 1 year full-time route starting in September 2027 at Singleton Park Campus. This page does not turn the part-time, PGDip or PGCert option on the same official course page into a separate programme.
What is the international tuition for MSc Health Data Science?
The official September 2027 international fee is GBP 24,100. The funding checkpoint adds the nine-month outside-London Student visa maintenance evidence, visa fee and immigration health surcharge. It is not a twelve-month living-cost forecast and excludes flights, housing deposits and other spending.
What Indian marks are needed for MSc Health Data Science?
Swansea's standard 2:2 comparison for an Indian bachelor's degree is 55% or CGPA 6.1/10. The course also states this academic rule: At least a 2:2, or overseas equivalent, in a quantitative discipline such as Mathematics, Statistics, Computing, Engineering, Physics or Biomedical science (including epidemiology, biological sciences or medicine). The degree must have had significant statistical and computational elements or a health data/medical background. Every programme-specific subject, experience, interview, clearance or professional condition still applies.
What English score does MSc Health Data Science require?
The programme page states IELTS 6.5 overall, 6.0 in each component. Swansea accepts named alternatives through its current English-language table, but the course-specific overall and component conditions in the offer remain controlling.
What is the application deadline for MSc Health Data Science?
Swansea's standard international deadline for September 2027 entry is 28 July 2027. The central table then gives 16 August for documents and 20 August for the deposit. A named course exception or earlier capacity closure still controls.
Does MSc Health Data Science guarantee a job after graduation?
No. The curriculum can support applications towards roles such as health-data analyst, informatics researcher or evidence specialist, but Swansea publishes no verified placement rate or salary distribution for this exact cohort. Post-study permission also remains separate from employer sponsorship.
How much Student visa maintenance money is required outside London?
The current published requirement is GBP 1,171 for each month of study, up to nine months. The maximum evidence amount used here is GBP 10,539, which is separate from unpaid tuition and must follow the timing rules in force when you apply.
How long is the UK Graduate route after a 2027 master's?
An eligible non-doctoral graduate applying on or after 1 January 2027 receives 18 months under the published Graduate route rules. It permits work under the route conditions but does not guarantee a sponsored role afterwards.
Sources
These sources support the programme, admission, cost and immigration information used on this page.
Sources checked on October 26, 2026. The next intake covered here is September 2027 entry.
More programmes
