The Nanyang MBA at NTU Singapore costs S$89,380 for the whole programme, about INR 66.4 lakh, and a first year including living costs comes to roughly INR 77.7 lakh. It runs twelve months from a single July intake, asks for at least two years of work experience against a class that averages six, and requires a GMAT or GRE with no waiver offered.
The placement figure is where it gets complicated. NTU publishes 92%, 93% and 95% employed within three months across three of its own pages. The Financial Times, which audits the same programme, publishes 65%.
What does the Nanyang MBA cost, and how is it paid?
S$89,380 buys the entire twelve month programme, not a year of it, and that figure already includes 9% GST. It is paid in four instalments rather than up front: S$21,800 when you accept the offer, then S$7,994 in August, S$29,793 in October and S$29,793 in January.
That first instalment is the one to plan around. It is non-refundable, it is due on acceptance rather than on arrival, and at roughly INR 16.2 lakh it is more than many applicants earn in a year. An Indian applicant on r/MBA in January 2026 described getting a seven day window to pay it. It does come off the tuition, so it is not an extra cost, but it is the point at which the decision stops being reversible.
A quote that isn’t S$89,380 is either pre-tax or out of date. NTU’s admissions page quotes S$82,000 before tax, and S$89,380 with it. Older figures of S$81,750 and S$75,000 still circulate on comparison sites and are simply previous years.
Converted at the European Central Bank reference rate on 7 August 2026, where SGD 1 equalled INR 74.33. Your bank will apply its own rate and a transfer fee.
| Item | SGD | INR | What it is |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tuition | 89,380 | 66.4 lakh | Whole programme, GST included |
| Living, 12 months | 14,400 to 18,000 | 10.7 to 13.4 lakh | NTU’s own estimate, campus dorm assumed |
| Application fee | 100 | 7,400 | Non-refundable |
| Mandatory miscellaneous fee | 620 | 46,100 | NTU central rate. NBS footnotes S$126.67 for the same year |
| First year total | 104,500 to 108,100 | 77.7 to 80.4 lakh | Flights and pass fees still on top |
NTU puts monthly living costs at S$1,200 to S$1,500, and attaches a condition to it: the figure assumes you win an on-campus dormitory place. A dorm is not guaranteed. Without one, our breakdown of student living costs in Singapore puts a realistic monthly spend at S$1,800 to S$2,800, which adds roughly INR 5 lakh across the year.
One line dominates the payment schedule and almost nobody mentions it. Accepting an offer requires a non-refundable enrolment fee of S$21,800, roughly INR 16.2 lakh. It comes off the tuition later, so it isn’t an extra cost, but it is money that stops being yours at the moment you accept. NTU’s admissions page still shows S$21,600 for the same fee, which is S$20,000 at the 8% GST rate that ended on 1 January 2024, so that line has been stale for over two years. An Indian applicant on r/MBA in January 2026 described being given a seven day window to pay it, calling the amount “more than my annual salary”.
Which scholarships can an Indian applicant actually win?
None of the regional awards. NTU’s MBA scholarship page lists funding for ASEAN nationals, APEC economies, EU citizens, the Middle East, Latin America, Africa and Korea. India sits outside every one of those categories, and the ASEAN award, at S$25,000 plus a monthly stipend, is the most generous on the list.
What remains for an Indian passport is the set of awards defined by something other than nationality: Women in Business, Sustainability Leader, Diversity, Global Citizen, Innovation and Technology, and Development Leaders. The K.N. Sellappah Scholarship covers 10% of tuition and names Asia among its eligible regions. NTU doesn’t publish how many of any of these are awarded each year, so the odds cannot be estimated from anything it has released.
Financing is narrower than it looks. NTU offers no student loans or financial aid of its own, and Singapore bank education loans are open only to citizens and permanent residents, so an Indian applicant borrows in India against an Indian salary. Health and surgical insurance is compulsory through NTU’s AIA scheme and an international graduate student cannot opt out of it.
Two discounts are more predictable than any scholarship. NTU alumni receive 10% off tuition before GST, and a company sponsoring one employee gets 15%, rising to 20% for two or more. For a candidate whose employer is willing to sponsor, that is worth more than most of the awards and it doesn’t depend on a selection panel.
Can you get in, and what does the class actually look like?
The published minimum is two years of work experience. The class average is six. That distance is the single most useful fact on this page for anyone deciding whether to apply now or in three years, because a minimum describes who may apply and an average describes who gets in.
Requirements from NTU’s admissions page. Class profile from NTU, except the international share, which is FT’s audited figure for the 2026 ranking.
| Requirement | What NTU states | What the class shows |
|---|---|---|
| Work experience | Minimum 2 years | Average 6 years |
| GMAT or GRE | Competitive score, no minimum published | Not published |
| English | IELTS 6.5 or TOEFL 100 iBT | 93% international |
| Age | Not specified | Average 28 |
| Nationality mix | Not specified | 15 nationalities, 40% women |
A GMAT or GRE is compulsory, and unlike NTU’s part-time MBA there is no waiver route. The only score threshold anywhere is 600, and it sits in an FAQ block still referring to admission in 2019, so treat it as a floor rather than a target. No class average is published.
Whether an English-medium Indian degree exempts you from IELTS has no clear answer today. NTU’s admissions page waives the test when English was the medium of instruction, which covers most Indian degrees. Its FAQ requires the test unless English is your native tongue, which covers almost nobody from India. The two rules are both live and give opposite answers, so an Indian applicant should get theirs in writing from admissions rather than assume the exemption.
How the rounds and the deposit work
There’s one intake a year, starting in July, and three rounds to reach it: 1 November, 31 January and 31 March. The rounds aren’t equivalent. Applying in the third round means competing for whatever places and scholarship money the first two rounds left behind, which is the ordinary mechanics of rolling admission rather than anything specific to NTU.
For the 2027 intake those rounds fall on 1 November 2026, 31 January 2027 and 31 March 2027. NTU lists them as day and month only, without a year.
Round 3 carries a timing problem. Its final decision comes on 15 May against a trimester that starts on 3 August, which leaves roughly eleven weeks to accept, pay S$21,800, obtain a Student’s Pass and move country. Rounds 1 and 2 are materially safer for an applicant who needs a visa.
The sequence after an offer is where the money moves. The application fee of S$100 is paid on submission. The enrolment fee of S$21,800 follows acceptance, is non-refundable, and is deducted from tuition. Both are gone if plans change. For an applicant holding offers from more than one school, that deposit is effectively the price of committing before the other decisions arrive.
The visa comes after admission, not alongside it, and it runs through the same route as every other Singapore student. Our guide to the Singapore Student’s Pass covers the application and the timing.
Where do Nanyang MBA graduates actually end up?
Two answers exist to the same question, and they are far apart. NTU’s career report says 92% employed within three months, its live programme page says 93%, and its careers office page says 95% citing an FT edition from 2020. The Financial Times, which audits its own data, publishes 65% for the same field in the 2026 ranking and 70% in 2025.
Employed at three months (%): 65Financial Times, Global MBA Ranking 2026, Nanyang Business School programme data
The salary needs reading carefully too. FT records a weighted salary of US$194,918 and a 136% increase, and both are measured on alumni three years after graduation against their own pre-MBA pay. Neither is a starting salary, and NTU publishes no starting salary, no median, no range and no breakdown by sector or nationality. A figure of US$134,213 circulating on several sites as the FT alumni salary is not an FT figure at all; it’s an undated “average alumni salary” from NTU’s own page.
Then there’s the number that matters most to an Indian reader, and it comes from NTU’s own report rather than a critic. South Asia supplies 26.6% of the intake and takes 6% of the output. Singapore absorbs 57%. Whichever way that gap is explained, a South Asian student is far more likely to leave the region for the degree than to return to it with one.
Employment Pass floors from the Ministry of Manpower, page last updated 28 April 2026. Figures are fixed monthly salary, non-financial sector, and rise with age.
| Stage | Now | From 1 January 2027 |
|---|---|---|
| EP salary floor, age 29 | S$6,991 a month | S$7,500 a month |
| COMPASS points, NTU degree | 20 of the 40 needed | 20 of the 40 needed |
| COMPASS diversity points | 0 if your nationality is 25% or more of the firm’s professionals | Unchanged |
| Job search pass | Exists, duration not published | Unchanged |
Staying in Singapore requires an employer to sponsor an Employment Pass, and the salary floor is age banded rather than flat. A graduate turning 29 needs S$6,991 a month today and S$7,500 from January 2027. MOM states plainly that a candidate who misses that floor is ineligible regardless of points scored elsewhere.
The degree does help at the second stage. MOM’s COMPASS framework awards the full 20 points for a qualification from NTU, which is named in its top tier institutions list, and 40 points are needed to pass. The diversity criterion can cut the other way for an Indian national joining a firm whose professional staff are already largely Indian, where those points fall to zero.
The job search window is thinner than it looks. Graduates can apply for a Long-Term Visit Pass to stay and look for work, ICA names NTU on its qualifying institution list, and the pass costs S$45 to apply and S$60 on issue. ICA doesn’t publish how long it lasts or how soon after graduation it must be requested, and it carries no right to work. The Student’s Pass itself has to be surrendered within seven days of finishing.
Named employers from NTU’s own report include Amazon, McKinsey, Goldman Sachs, Deloitte, KPMG, PwC, Procter and Gamble, Dell, Shopee, Abbott and Thermo Fisher. Technology takes 25% of graduates, financial services 16% and consulting 14%.
Is the Nanyang MBA right for you?
The rankings split in a way that should inform this rather than settle it. FT places the programme 12th globally in 2026, up from 22nd and 32nd in the two prior editions, and 2nd worldwide for value for money. QS places it 38th globally and 3rd in Asia in the same year. NTU overall sits 12th in the QS World University Rankings 2027. Both MBA rankings are current, and quoting one without the other misrepresents the position.
Based on the published cost, the class profile and Singapore’s work pass rules.
| A reasonable fit | A poor fit |
|---|---|
| You have five or more years of experience and want a one year programme that keeps you close to Asian markets | You have exactly the two year minimum and are competing against a class averaging six |
| Your employer will sponsor, which brings a 15% to 20% discount and removes most of the financing risk | You’re funding the whole INR 77 lakh through a loan repaid on an Indian salary |
| You intend to work in Singapore or Southeast Asia and can realistically command the Employment Pass floor | You intend to return to India, where only 6% of the cohort ends up |
| Value for money and career progress matter more to you than brand recognition in India | You need a US or European recruiting market, which this programme doesn’t feed |
How the programme is structured
The Nanyang MBA runs 12 months across three trimesters, taught in English. Orientation is in July and teaching starts in August, which is why NTU’s own pages describe the intake as both. Its two most recently updated pages describe a 12 or 18 month programme, but the AY2026 fee table has a single 12 month row, so the longer version carries no published fee, structure or deadline. Nanyang Business School holds both EQUIS and AACSB accreditation. NTU reports that 96% of participants change sector, function or location, and 70% change industry, which fits a one year format aimed at professionals repositioning rather than specialising.
For a comparison against the wider market, our guide to MBA options in Singapore sets this against NUS and the private providers, and the NTU admissions overview covers the university’s other graduate routes. Funding options beyond this programme are in our Singapore scholarships guide.
- Tuition is S$89,380 with GST included, about INR 66.4 lakh, and a first year with living costs reaches roughly INR 77 lakh. The S$82,000 figure on NTU’s admissions page is the same fee before tax.
- Accepting an offer costs a non-refundable S$21,800, around INR 16.2 lakh, deducted from tuition later.
- NTU publishes 92%, 93% and 95% employment on three pages. FT’s audited figure for the same programme is 65%.
- US$194,918 is FT’s alumni salary three years after graduation, not a starting salary. No starting salary is published anywhere.
- South Asia is 26.6% of the intake and 6% of the outcome, while 57% of graduates stay in Singapore.
- Every NTU MBA scholarship defined by region excludes India. The nationality-neutral awards and the alumni or employer discounts are what remain.
- Staying on needs an employer to sponsor an Employment Pass at S$6,991 a month at age 29, rising to S$7,500 in January 2027.
Frequently asked questions
What is the total cost of the NTU MBA for an Indian student?
Tuition is S$89,380 including GST, about INR 66.4 lakh at the European Central Bank rate on 7 August 2026. Adding NTU’s own living estimate of S$1,200 to S$1,500 a month for twelve months, plus the application and student services fees, brings the first year to between INR 77.3 lakh and INR 80.0 lakh. Flights, insurance and Student’s Pass fees sit on top of that.
Is the NTU MBA fee S$82,000 or S$89,380?
Both, and they’re the same number. NTU’s admissions page quotes S$82,000 excluding 9% GST and the fees page quotes S$89,380 including it. S$82,000 multiplied by 1.09 is exactly S$89,380. The amount payable is S$89,380, and any page quoting S$82,000 as the cost has left out the tax.
How many years of work experience does the Nanyang MBA require?
NTU states a minimum of two years. The class that actually arrives averages six years, and the average age is 28. An applicant at exactly two years meets the published requirement while competing against a cohort with three times that much experience.
What percentage of Nanyang MBA graduates get jobs?
It depends on the source, and the gap is wide. NTU’s career report says 92% within three months, its programme page says 93%, and its careers office page says 95% citing a 2020 ranking. The Financial Times publishes 65% for the same field in its 2026 ranking and 70% in 2025. FT audits its own data, so its figure carries a different kind of weight from a marketing page.
Can an Indian student stay and work in Singapore after the NTU MBA?
Only with an employer sponsoring an Employment Pass. The salary floor is age banded and sits at S$6,991 a month for a 29 year old in the non-financial sector today, rising to S$7,500 from 1 January 2027. A Long-Term Visit Pass allows a graduate to stay and search, but ICA doesn’t publish its duration and it carries no right to work.
Are there NTU MBA scholarships for Indian students?
Not by nationality. The ASEAN, APEC, EU, Middle East, Latin America, Africa and Korea awards all exclude India. Indian applicants can apply for the awards that aren’t defined by region, such as Women in Business, Sustainability Leader and Global Citizen, and for the K.N. Sellappah Scholarship at 10% of tuition. NTU doesn’t publish how many are awarded.
Sources
- NTU Nanyang Business School, Nanyang MBA fees and funding
- NTU, Nanyang MBA admissions, requirements and rounds
- NTU, Nanyang MBA frequently asked questions, living costs
- NTU, Nanyang MBA scholarships
- NTU, The Nanyang MBA Career Development Report
- Financial Times, Global MBA Ranking 2026, Nanyang programme data
- QS Global MBA Rankings 2026
- Singapore Ministry of Manpower, Employment Pass eligibility and COMPASS
- Ministry of Manpower, COMPASS C2 list of top tier institutions
- ICA, Long-Term Visit Pass for graduates seeking employment
- ICA, cancelling a Student’s Pass
- European Central Bank, daily reference exchange rates, 7 August 2026

Leave a Reply