University of Oxford MSc in Sustainability, Enterprise and the Environment
University of Oxford · School of Geography and the Environment · Oxford, United Kingdom- Full time
- Oxford
- 12 months
Fee, living, visa, IHS and application.
2027-28 course fee
full time in Oxford
IELTS 7.5 / 7.0
No GRE or GMAT requirement is published
three-year average where available
2027-28 deadline not yet published; most Oxford courses refr
What is the Oxford MSc in Sustainability, Enterprise and the Environment?
For Indian applicants, the University of Oxford MSc in Sustainability, Enterprise and the Environment is a 12-month full-time master’s focused on net zero, sustainable development, environmental economics, enterprise, finance and systems change. Ten teaching modules across three core courses, two electives, field activity and a dissertation connect climate systems with decisions inside firms and markets.
The lower full-course plan is £71,537, about INR 91.56 lakh at the dated reference rate. The application section distinguishes confirmed 2027 dates from details that Oxford has not released, while the cost section labels the exact fee edition.
This 12-month, full-time, Oxford-resident MSc is offered by the School of Geography and the Environment, with teaching anchored in the Smith School of Enterprise and the Environment. It connects climate/development science with economics, finance and enterprise. It intentionally enrols a mix of recent graduates and early-/mid-career professionals; professional experience is welcomed, not mandatory. Published 2027-28 annual fee: £51,740 overseas (£33,150 Home). Oxford estimates 2027-28 living costs at £1,475-£2,175 per month. A 12-month fee-plus-living planning range is therefore £69,440-£77,840, excluding visa/IHS, flights and variable research/field expenses. This is dossier arithmetic, not an official packaged cost. Fieldwork is unusually substantial: an induction trip, two one-day trips in each of Michaelmas and Hilary, and a week-long capstone field trip at the end of Hilary. Applicants should verify whether all travel/accommodation is included when 2027-28 additional-cost wording is released. The central page is closed for 2026-27 and says most courses open for 2027-28 on 16 September 2026. It has not yet published this course’s exact 2027-28 deadline; the latest live wording only identifies a January scholarship deadline.
What does Oxford MSc in Sustainability, Enterprise and the Environment cost for an Indian student?
The lower 12-month planning case is £71,537, approximately INR 91.56 lakh. It combines the 2027-28 course fee, Oxford’s £1,475 monthly lower living estimate, the application charge, a £558 Student visa and an estimated £1,164 immigration health surcharge. A planning allowance of £300 is included for the first published course-specific cost; actual choices can cost more.
| Item | INR | Local currency | When it is due |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overseas course fee | INR 66.22 lakh | £51,740 | 2027-28 course fee |
| Lower living estimate, 12 months | INR 22.65 lakh | £17,700 | At £1,475 per month |
| Graduate application | INR 9,599 | £75 | At submission |
| UK Student visa | INR 71,419 | £558 | At visa application |
| Immigration health surcharge estimate | INR 1.49 lakh | £1,164 | About 18 months charged for a one-year course |
| Initial course-specific allowance | INR 38,397 | £300 | Research, placement, laptop or field activity |
| Lower full-course planning total | INR 91.56 lakh | £71,537 | Before flights, deposits and exchange spread |
The £10,539 outside-London maintenance evidence is not added again because living costs are already included. Where financial evidence is required, the funds must be held for 28 consecutive days and the evidence must be no more than 31 days old when applying. GBP items use £1 = INR 127.9914, the Bank of England daily spot rate for 7 September 2026. It is a reference, not a retail transfer quote.
Oxford’s monthly 2027-28 range is £1,475 to £2,175. The table deliberately uses the lower end, making it a minimum planning case rather than a comfort budget. At the upper end, living alone would be £26,100 for 12 months.
The Student visa maintenance figure and the Oxford living estimate answer different questions. The visa rule sets documentary evidence; the Oxford range is the better local spending reference. Adding both would double-count living money, so it isn’t done here.
The UK Government states the financial rule directly:
“You’ll need to show you have enough money to support yourself – unless you’ve been in the UK with a valid visa for at least 12 months on the date of your application.”UK Government, Student visa money
That doesn’t replace the course-fee amount on the CAS or Oxford’s local spending range.
UKCISA’s Student route guidance is a useful second check on eligibility and documentary evidence, but it can’t override the Immigration Rules or the instructions attached to an individual application.
The course fee is the 2027-28 course fee for MSc in Sustainability, Enterprise and the Environment. For MBA and MFE the latest figure still belongs to 2026-27 and is not relabelled as 2027-28. College services are included in Oxford’s course-fee structure. Flights, housing deposits, exchange spread and elective travel remain outside the headline unless an allowance appears in the table.
Can an Indian applicant meet Oxford MSc in Sustainability, Enterprise and the Environment entry requirements?
An Indian applicant needs evidence matching Oxford’s course-specific degree rule for MSc in Sustainability, Enterprise and the Environment, including preparation for Climate Change and Net Zero. No GRE or GMAT requirement is published. The published English benchmark is IELTS 7.5 overall and 7.0 in every component. Recheck all three after Oxford’s 16 September refresh.
| Requirement | Published rule | What you do |
|---|---|---|
| MSc in Sustainability, Enterprise and the Environment qualifying degree (India) | a first-class or strong upper-second-class equivalent degree in any discipline, backed by a clear sustainability rationale | Map transcript evidence to Climate Change and Net Zero and the official MSc in Sustainability, Enterprise and the Environment wording |
| Indian equivalence for MSc in Sustainability, Enterprise and the Environment (India) | Use Oxford's India table for the exact institution and award type before claiming the MSc in Sustainability, Enterprise and the Environment grade threshold | Save the Oxford equivalence row beside the MSc in Sustainability, Enterprise and the Environment transcript map |
| MSc in Sustainability, Enterprise and the Environment English evidence (India) | Oxford higher level: IELTS 7.5 overall and 7.0 in each component | Choose an accepted test or formal exemption that remains valid at the MSc in Sustainability, Enterprise and the Environment start |
| MSc in Sustainability, Enterprise and the Environment admissions test (India) | No GRE or GMAT requirement is published | Book only the test route that MSc in Sustainability, Enterprise and the Environment actually assesses |
| MSc in Sustainability, Enterprise and the Environment references and writing (India) | Meet the reference, CV, statement and written-work specifications attached to MSc in Sustainability, Enterprise and the Environment | Recheck MSc in Sustainability, Enterprise and the Environment word counts and referee mix for the 2027-28 cycle |
A MSc in Sustainability, Enterprise and the Environment academic map points from original marks, syllabus pages and assessed work to the threshold in the table. It should show why Climate Change and Net Zero is progression from existing preparation rather than a rescue course for a missing foundation.
The MSc in Sustainability, Enterprise and the Environment statement needs a concrete connection from prior evidence to Dissertation. Name the question, decision or method you want to carry from Climate Change and Net Zero through the final assessment instead of praising colleges or rankings.
A MSc in Sustainability, Enterprise and the Environment applicant must also name the mismatch honestly. Where a prerequisite, workload or professional-experience gap applies, a foundation-building course or a differently structured master’s is stronger than asking an optional document to override the published rule.
Application materials include three referees (at least two currently academic), transcript, a maximum 1,000-word personal statement, and one academic writing sample up to 2,000 words. The form itself captures CV-style information; a separately uploaded CV is removed. Three organising core courses: Transitions from Net Zero and Sustainable Development; Economics, Markets and Society for Sustainability; Enterprise, Finance and the Environment. They are delivered through ten modules. The complete ten-module list is: Climate Change and Net Zero; Sustainable Enterprise; Economics of Sustainability; Spaces, Infrastructure and Technology for Net Zero and Sustainable Development; Methods and Data; Sustainable Finance; Socio-technical Interventions and Sustainable Law; Business Strategy for Sustainability; Natural Capital, Markets and Society; Water, Inequalities and Social Enterprise. Students also take two electives and a 15,000-word independent dissertation. Recent indicative electives: Decolonising Conservation; A Global South Perspective on Climate Change and Climate Justice; Economics of Innovation and New Technologies; Extractive Compromises in the Ecuadorian Amazon; Animal Geographies; Climate Change, Communication and the Media; Energy and the Environment; Human-Wildlife Conflict and Coexistence: Theory and Practice. Options vary annually.
Checks that decide a MSc in Sustainability, Enterprise and the Environment file
The course title does not prove subject preparation
Oxford assesses the content behind an award. For MSc in Sustainability, Enterprise and the Environment, the file must connect prior study to Climate Change and Net Zero and readiness for Dissertation; a broad degree label alone cannot do that.
Current non-fee text belongs to 2026-27
The university has already published 2027-28 fees but says other information remains for 2026-27 until the September refresh. Treating an old deadline as confirmed would be false precision.
How should an Indian applicant apply for Oxford MSc in Sustainability, Enterprise and the Environment?
For 2027-28, 2027-28 deadline not yet published; most oxford courses refresh 16 september 2026. The refreshed official instructions must supply the final submission date. Prepare the academic map, referees, test and funding case now. Where Oxford has not published an exact date, submit only against the refreshed official instructions.
Use Oxford's official graduate application route for central courses and the Saïd application route where the business school directs it. The live programme page controls the exact route, fee and documents.
| Step | Task | Allowance | Why it matters |
|---|---|---|---|
| 01 | Audit academic eligibility | 14 days | Map degree, subject and grade evidence to the course requirements. |
| 02 | Complete English and any admissions test | 90 days | No GRE or GMAT requirement is published. |
| 03 | Brief referees and prepare programme evidence | 45 days | Use the exact refreshed document and word-count rules. |
| 04 | Submit through Oxford's stated portal | 14 days | Aim two weeks before the published funding deadline once released. |
| 05 | Prepare offer, deposit and visa funding | 120 days | Keep the Financial Declaration and 28-day visa evidence as separate controls. |
The allowances are preparation estimates, not deadlines or processing times published by University of Oxford. Start dates remain unconfirmed.
Deadline discipline matters because the December or January deadline on many Oxford courses is also the cut-off for automatic consideration for major Oxford scholarships. If Oxford hasn’t published the new course date, last cycle’s deadline cannot decide the calendar.
Referees need time to comment on academic ability and programme fit rather than reproduce a CV. Give each referee the course link, the relevant work or module evidence and a private submission buffer.
After an offer, satisfy academic conditions, college placement and the Financial Declaration before treating the place as finance-ready. Then build the CAS and Student visa file with funds held for the required period.
What jobs can follow Oxford MSc in Sustainability, Enterprise and the Environment?
Relevant directions in several sectors include sustainability consulting, climate finance, ESG strategy, policy, impact investment and enterprise transformation. The strongest evidence is the programme’s assessed work and the applicant’s prior experience, not the university name alone. The Graduate visa supplies search time rather than employment.
| Measure | Figure | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| Role directions | Sustainability consulting, climate finance, esg strategy, policy, impact investment and enterprise transformation | Oxford's published MSc in Sustainability, Enterprise and the Environment curriculum and destination context |
| Portfolio signal | Work developed between Climate Change and Net Zero and Dissertation | Published structure of MSc in Sustainability, Enterprise and the Environment |
| Graduate visa for a 2028 application | 18 months under the current rule | UK Graduate route from 1 January 2027 |
| Guaranteed placement or salary | Not published | Evidence limit |
For a MSc in Sustainability, Enterprise and the Environment graduate applying after 1 January 2027, the current non-doctoral Graduate route is 18 months. That can support a search in sustainability consulting, climate finance, ESG strategy, policy, impact investment and enterprise transformation, but occupation access, employer sponsorship and a later Skilled Worker application remain separate decisions.
A MSc in Sustainability, Enterprise and the Environment recruiter narrative can start with Climate Change and Net Zero, show the student’s own analytical or leadership decision, and end with evidence from Dissertation. That chain is legible to employers in sustainability consulting, climate finance, ESG strategy, policy, impact investment and enterprise transformation; a list of Oxford activities without individual contribution is not.
For doctoral progression from MSc in Sustainability, Enterprise and the Environment, Dissertation can demonstrate method, question formation and sustained execution. A later research application still needs a defensible proposal, supervisor match and evidence of preparation beyond the taught award.
An international MSc in Sustainability, Enterprise and the Environment graduate should separate permission to work, entry to sustainability consulting, climate finance, ESG strategy, policy, impact investment and enterprise transformation and an employer’s later sponsorship decision. The 18-month Graduate route addresses only the first. Admission to MSc in Sustainability, Enterprise and the Environment settles none of the other labour-market tests.
The Enterprise Forum runs alongside modules and includes leadership development, mentoring and case learning; weekly business cases, practitioner engagement, practicums and field trips are embedded rather than being a separate internship. Apply by the course’s January funding deadline for consideration for most Oxford scholarships including Clarendon. The Indian-applicant routes to verify include Felix; Felix can cover full fees, a living grant around £19,000 and a return flight, subject to strict India residence/education/financial-need/no-prior-Master’s criteria. A Smith School brochure mentions course-specific funding and an Aurora Energy Research scholarship whose donation supported nine awards across 2021-2026 and one 2025 entrant. That evidence does not establish an Aurora award for 2027-28; do not list it as current without a refreshed official page. Oxford reports about 30 places in 2026-27 and 618 applications/year, averaged over applications for 2023-24 to 2025-26. That is roughly 20.6 applications per place, a demand proxy only; it is not an acceptance rate because offers are not reported.
Who is Oxford MSc in Sustainability, Enterprise and the Environment for, and who should avoid it?
In practice, the clearest MSc in Sustainability, Enterprise and the Environment fit can begin at Climate Change and Net Zero and wants to reach Dissertation in 12 months. A weak subject match, dependence on an unconfirmed scholarship or discomfort with this calendar points to a different course.
| Verdict | Your background | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Strong fit | MSc in Sustainability, Enterprise and the Environment applicant with mapped foundations | The transcript and prior work support Climate Change and Net Zero |
| Strong fit | Candidate seeking Climate Change and Net Zero through Dissertation | The published assessment path joins those components within 12 months |
| Needs evidence | MSc in Sustainability, Enterprise and the Environment applicant near the academic floor | The minimum describes eligibility, not the strength of a competitive file |
| Needs evidence | MSc in Sustainability, Enterprise and the Environment student funding only the lower estimate | The 12-month Oxford budget rises by £700 for each month at the upper estimate |
| Do not shortlist | MSc in Sustainability, Enterprise and the Environment conversion applicant without prerequisites | The stated route expects net zero, sustainable development, environmental economics, enterprise, finance and systems change before or from the start |
| Do not shortlist | MSc in Sustainability, Enterprise and the Environment applicant relying on guaranteed employment | Oxford publishes no MSc in Sustainability, Enterprise and the Environment placement or salary guarantee |
The first MSc in Sustainability, Enterprise and the Environment fit test is documentary. A transcript or work record that cannot connect to Climate Change and Net Zero is a reason to compare alternatives, because prestige cannot repair a missing academic foundation.
The second MSc in Sustainability, Enterprise and the Environment test is instructional. Someone who dislikes the published movement from opening foundations to final assessed work would spend 12 intensive months in the wrong format, regardless of the university name.
The final MSc in Sustainability, Enterprise and the Environment test is liquidity. Its lower case is £71,537, about INR 91.56 lakh, before flights and housing deposits. Funding that depends on an unconfirmed award, part-time work or an immediate target-sector offer is not yet a viable plan.
Oxford names consulting, sustainability consulting, UN agencies/World Bank, and sustainability management in FMCG and finance among past destinations, while saying most graduates are expected to pursue non-academic careers and some exceptional students progress to DPhil study. It publishes no placement rate or salary. This is broader than ESG: the ten core modules cover climate science, economics, infrastructure/technology, methods/data, law, natural capital and water inequality as well as sustainable finance and business strategy. A finance-only description materially misrepresents it. Applied exposure is not an internship promise: the official structure provides practitioner forums, case workshops, practicums and field trips. It does not promise a credit-bearing placement or employer assignment. Selectivity should not be reverse-engineered: 618 applications and 30 places show very high demand but do not reveal offers, yield or an acceptance rate. The writing sample is a real filter: applicants from highly quantitative degrees still need an academic argument up to 2,000 words. A separate CV is specifically removed, so professional evidence must be put where Oxford asks for it.
What does the Oxford MSc in Sustainability, Enterprise and the Environment curriculum contain?
Oxford currently publishes the following components for the 2026-27 course; names and availability need a 2027-28 refresh check. The published path runs from Climate Change and Net Zero to Dissertation. Oxford does not state a comparable credit value for every component on the course profile, so the table counts listed components rather than inventing credits.
| Component | Listed components | Where it sits |
|---|---|---|
| Climate Change and Net Zero | 1 | |
| Sustainable Enterprise | 1 | |
| Economics of Sustainability | 1 | |
| Finance and Investment for Sustainability | 1 | |
| Systems Change | 1 | |
| Sustainable Development | 1 | |
| Data and Decision Making | 1 | |
| Two electives | 1 | |
| Dissertation | 1 | |
| Total | 9 |
The note “Published course component or current option” applies to 9 components in this table.
- Full-time attendance in Oxford
- Expected length is 12 months
- Current option availability can change
- No ECTS values have been invented
Read the sequence from Climate Change and Net Zero through Dissertation. Use it to identify which prior work demonstrates readiness and which component would create the clearest new portfolio or research evidence.
Option lists are not promises. Timetabling, staffing, capacity and programme updates can change the final combination, so an application should not depend on one elective unless the refreshed handbook confirms it.
Should an Indian applicant shortlist Oxford MSc in Sustainability, Enterprise and the Environment?
In practice, shortlist MSc in Sustainability, Enterprise and the Environment when earlier study or work supports Climate Change and Net Zero and the move towards Dissertation. The strongest return is inspectable progress across that assessment path. Funding must work without assuming part-time income or a guaranteed job.
Academic fit is unusually important because MSc in Sustainability, Enterprise and the Environment starts from Climate Change and Net Zero rather than an introductory survey. Historical demand is substantial where Oxford publishes it. Applications and places are different denominators, so neither their ratio nor the formal floor predicts one person's offer.
The decisive counterweight is this: The course is broad and intensely selective; field-based dissertation choices can add £300 to £1,500 or more, while applicants seeking laboratory environmental science may find the enterprise emphasis too strong. The lower planning total on this page also assumes Oxford's lower living-cost estimate, not a private-room guarantee or a prediction of personal spending.
- MSc in Sustainability, Enterprise and the Environment is a 12-month full-time Oxford master's.
- The 2027-28 course fee used in the plan is £51,740.
- The current academic benchmark is a first-class or strong upper-second-class equivalent degree in any discipline, backed by a clear sustainability rationale.
- The lower full-course planning case is £71,537, about INR 91.56 lakh.
- The 2027-28 deadline was not published on 8 September; most Oxford course pages refresh on 16 September 2026.
- For post-study applications in 2028, the current non-doctoral Graduate route is 18 months, not a job guarantee.
Frequently asked questions
What is the latest fee for Oxford MSc in Sustainability, Enterprise and the Environment?
The 2027-28 course fee is £51,740. A lower 12-month plan including living costs, the application, Student visa, estimated health surcharge and the first stated course-specific allowance is £71,537, about INR 91.56 lakh. Flights, housing deposits and exchange spread remain outside it.
When is the Oxford MSc in Sustainability, Enterprise and the Environment deadline?
The current position is: 2027-28 deadline not yet published; most Oxford courses refresh 16 September 2026. This was checked on 8 September 2026. Where an exact 2027-28 date is not published, do not reuse the closed 2026-27 date. Check the official course page, then aim at least two weeks before the confirmed funding deadline.
What English score does Oxford MSc in Sustainability, Enterprise and the Environment require?
The currently published requirement is Oxford higher level: IELTS 7.5 overall and 7.0 in each component. Oxford is reviewing revised TOEFL iBT tests taken from 21 January 2026, so an applicant choosing TOEFL should read the refreshed accepted-tests guidance before booking. A medium-of-instruction letter works only where Oxford's formal exemption rule accepts it.
Does Oxford MSc in Sustainability, Enterprise and the Environment require GRE or GMAT?
No GRE or GMAT requirement is published. The test rule is programme-specific and cannot replace a missing degree, subject prerequisite, English condition, reference or written document. Because most non-fee information still belongs to 2026-27, confirm the exact 2027-28 rule after the 16 September refresh.
How much money is needed for an Oxford MSc in Sustainability, Enterprise and the Environment Student visa?
The current outside-London maintenance evidence is £1,171 monthly for up to nine months, or £10,539, plus unpaid course fees shown on the CAS. Where evidence is required, funds need a 28-day holding period and recent evidence. That visa figure is not added to this page's total because Oxford living costs are already included.
Can I work in the UK after Oxford MSc in Sustainability, Enterprise and the Environment?
Under the current rule, a non-doctoral graduate applying to the Graduate route from 1 January 2027 receives 18 months. A student finishing this course in 2028 would therefore plan around 18 months, subject to the rules then in force. It provides work permission, not placement or later sponsorship.
Sources
These sources support the programme, admission, cost, experience and immigration information used on this page.
Sources checked on September 8, 2026. The next intake covered here is 2027-28 entry; use the programme's current official application page.
| No. | Source | Evidence role |
|---|---|---|
| 01 | University of Oxford, MSc in Sustainability, Enterprise and the Environment course profile | Core programme evidence |
| 02 | School of Geography and the Environment, course information | Core programme evidence |
| 03 | University of Oxford, 2027-28 living costs | Supporting external evidence |
| 04 | University of Oxford, graduate scholarships | Supporting external evidence |
| 05 | University of Oxford, Financial Declaration | Supporting external evidence |
| 06 | UK Government, Student visa money and fee | Supporting external evidence |
| 07 | UK Government, immigration health surcharge | Supporting external evidence |
| 08 | UK Government, Graduate visa | Supporting external evidence |
| 09 | Bank of England, GBP to INR daily spot rate | Supporting external evidence |
| 10 | UKCISA, Student route eligibility and requirements | Supporting external evidence |
More programmes
