University of Oxford MSc in Social Data Science
University of Oxford · Oxford Internet Institute · Oxford, United Kingdom- Full time
- Oxford
- 10 months
Fee, living, visa, IHS and application.
2027-28 course fee
full time in Oxford
IELTS 7.5 / 7.0
No GRE or GMAT requirement is published
three-year average where available
13 November 2026 or 7 January 2027; equal consideration
What is the Oxford MSc in Social Data Science?
For Indian applicants, the University of Oxford MSc in Social Data Science is a 10-month full-time master’s focused on machine learning, statistics, network analysis, computational social science and responsible data use. Six core papers in Python, machine learning, data and society, research design and statistics lead to two options and a 12,000-word thesis.
The lower full-course plan is £57,277, about INR 73.31 lakh at the dated reference rate. The application section distinguishes confirmed 2027 dates from details that Oxford has not released, while the cost section labels the exact fee edition.
The MSc is offered by the Oxford Internet Institute (OII), full-time and in person for 10 months, October to August. The OII already labels the start October 2027. It blends machine learning/statistics/programming with social-science theory, research design, and ethical/legal/governance questions. It is aimed at people with quantitative and programming skills who want social research, tech policy, data/analytics or doctoral routes-not a pure software-engineering conversion course. OII publishes two 2027-entry deadlines: Friday 13 November 2026 and Thursday 7 January 2027. Both receive equal consideration; November produces an earlier decision. The application, including references, must be complete. Published 2027-28 annual fee: £40,730 overseas (£29,130 Home). Ten months of Oxford’s £1,475-£2,175 monthly 2027-28 living band plus tuition gives £55,480-£62,480, excluding visa/IHS, flights and any thesis-specific expense. This is arithmetic, not an official package quote. Central requirements remain labelled 2026-27: a first-class honours degree in any subject. Exceptional candidates with distinguished workplace experience/achievements may be admitted with lower grades, but OII urges industry applicants to retain an academic/academic-related reference. No GRE or GMAT is sought.
What does Oxford MSc in Social Data Science cost for an Indian student?
The lower 10-month planning case is £57,277, approximately INR 73.31 lakh. It combines the 2027-28 course fee, Oxford’s £1,475 monthly lower living estimate, the application charge, a £558 Student visa and an estimated £1,164 immigration health surcharge. No compulsory programme-specific charge is added where Oxford says none applies beyond fees and living costs.
| Item | INR | Local currency | When it is due |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overseas course fee | INR 52.13 lakh | £40,730 | 2027-28 course fee |
| Lower living estimate, 10 months | INR 18.88 lakh | £14,750 | At £1,475 per month |
| Graduate application | INR 9,599 | £75 | At submission |
| UK Student visa | INR 71,419 | £558 | At visa application |
| Immigration health surcharge estimate | INR 1.49 lakh | £1,164 | About 18 months charged for a one-year course |
| Lower full-course planning total | INR 73.31 lakh | £57,277 | Before flights, deposits and exchange spread |
The £10,539 outside-London maintenance evidence is not added again because living costs are already included. Where financial evidence is required, the funds must be held for 28 consecutive days and the evidence must be no more than 31 days old when applying. GBP items use £1 = INR 127.9914, the Bank of England daily spot rate for 7 September 2026. It is a reference, not a retail transfer quote.
Oxford’s monthly 2027-28 range is £1,475 to £2,175. The table deliberately uses the lower end, making it a minimum planning case rather than a comfort budget. At the upper end, living alone would be £21,750 for 10 months.
The Student visa maintenance figure and the Oxford living estimate answer different questions. The visa rule sets documentary evidence; the Oxford range is the better local spending reference. Adding both would double-count living money, so it isn’t done here.
The UK Government states the financial rule directly:
“You’ll need to show you have enough money to support yourself – unless you’ve been in the UK with a valid visa for at least 12 months on the date of your application.”UK Government, Student visa money
That doesn’t replace the course-fee amount on the CAS or Oxford’s local spending range.
UKCISA’s Student route guidance is a useful second check on eligibility and documentary evidence, but it can’t override the Immigration Rules or the instructions attached to an individual application.
The course fee is the 2027-28 course fee for MSc in Social Data Science. For MBA and MFE the latest figure still belongs to 2026-27 and is not relabelled as 2027-28. College services are included in Oxford’s course-fee structure. Flights, housing deposits, exchange spread and elective travel remain outside the headline unless an allowance appears in the table.
Can an Indian applicant meet Oxford MSc in Social Data Science entry requirements?
An Indian applicant needs evidence matching Oxford’s course-specific degree rule for MSc in Social Data Science, including preparation for Fundamentals of Social Data Science in Python. No GRE or GMAT requirement is published. The published English benchmark is IELTS 7.5 overall and 7.0 in every component. Recheck all three after Oxford’s 16 September refresh.
| Requirement | Published rule | What you do |
|---|---|---|
| MSc in Social Data Science qualifying degree (India) | a first-class equivalent degree in any subject, with calculus, matrix algebra and demonstrated applied programming; online courses alone are insufficient | Map transcript evidence to Fundamentals of Social Data Science in Python and the official MSc in Social Data Science wording |
| Indian equivalence for MSc in Social Data Science (India) | Use Oxford's India table for the exact institution and award type before claiming the MSc in Social Data Science grade threshold | Save the Oxford equivalence row beside the MSc in Social Data Science transcript map |
| MSc in Social Data Science English evidence (India) | Oxford higher level: IELTS 7.5 overall and 7.0 in each component | Choose an accepted test or formal exemption that remains valid at the MSc in Social Data Science start |
| MSc in Social Data Science admissions test (India) | No GRE or GMAT requirement is published | Book only the test route that MSc in Social Data Science actually assesses |
| MSc in Social Data Science references and writing (India) | Meet the reference, CV, statement and written-work specifications attached to MSc in Social Data Science | Recheck MSc in Social Data Science word counts and referee mix for the 2027-28 cycle |
A MSc in Social Data Science academic map points from original marks, syllabus pages and assessed work to the threshold in the table. It should show why Fundamentals of Social Data Science in Python is progression from existing preparation rather than a rescue course for a missing foundation.
The MSc in Social Data Science statement needs a concrete connection from prior evidence to 12,000-word thesis. Name the question, decision or method you want to carry from Fundamentals of Social Data Science in Python through the final assessment instead of praising colleges or rankings.
A MSc in Social Data Science applicant must also name the mismatch honestly. Where a prerequisite, workload or professional-experience gap applies, a foundation-building course or a differently structured master’s is stronger than asking an optional document to override the published rule.
Core papers listed by OII: Fundamentals of Social Data Science in Python; Machine Learning; Data and Society I; Research Design for Social Data Science; Applied Analytical Statistics; Data and Society II. The central page groups the first two as Introduction to Data Science and Machine Learning. Students select two options. The OII’s complete current list is: Algorithmic Fairness and Accountability; Applied Machine Learning with LLMs; Artificial Intelligence for Policymaking; Data-driven Network Science; Internet Economics; Social Data Science in Practice. Not all run every year. Term layout: Michaelmas-Introduction to Data Science and Machine Learning, Data and Society I, Research Design; Hilary-Applied Analytical Statistics, Data and Society II, two options; Trinity-thesis and MSc Research Seminar. Thesis is up to 12,000 words. The central page expects about 40 hours/week in term. Michaelmas includes at least 20 preparation hours plus 16-20 class hours weekly; Hilary at least 24 preparation hours plus 10-12 class hours. Vacation work/assessment continues. Assessment: Introduction to Data Science and Machine Learning uses a written exam and short take-home paper; other core/options currently use essays or research projects; term three is thesis assessment.
Checks that decide a MSc in Social Data Science file
The course title does not prove subject preparation
Oxford assesses the content behind an award. For MSc in Social Data Science, the file must connect prior study to Fundamentals of Social Data Science in Python and readiness for 12,000-word thesis; a broad degree label alone cannot do that.
Current non-fee text belongs to 2026-27
The university has already published 2027-28 fees but says other information remains for 2026-27 until the September refresh. Treating an old deadline as confirmed would be false precision.
How should an Indian applicant apply for Oxford MSc in Social Data Science?
The confirmed submission control for MSc in Social Data Science is 13 November 2026 or 7 January 2027; equal consideration. The complete file and references must arrive by that point. Prepare the academic map, referees, test and funding case now. Where Oxford has not published an exact date, submit only against the refreshed official instructions.
Use Oxford's official graduate application route for central courses and the Saïd application route where the business school directs it. The live programme page controls the exact route, fee and documents.
| Start by | Task | Takes | Why this date |
|---|---|---|---|
| 28 May 2026 | Complete English and any admissions test | 90 days | No GRE or GMAT requirement is published. |
| 12 Jul 2026 | Brief referees and prepare programme evidence | 45 days | Use the exact refreshed document and word-count rules. |
| 12 Aug 2026 | Audit academic eligibility | 14 days | Map degree, subject and grade evidence to the course requirements. |
| 26 Aug 2026 | Submit through Oxford's stated portal | 14 days | Aim two weeks before the published funding deadline once released. |
| 09 Sep 2026 | Prepare offer, deposit and visa funding | 120 days | Keep the Financial Declaration and 28-day visa evidence as separate controls. |
The allowances are Nbyula planning estimates, not processing times published by University of Oxford.
Deadline discipline matters because the December or January deadline on many Oxford courses is also the cut-off for automatic consideration for major Oxford scholarships. If Oxford hasn’t published the new course date, last cycle’s deadline cannot decide the calendar.
Referees need time to comment on academic ability and programme fit rather than reproduce a CV. Give each referee the course link, the relevant work or module evidence and a private submission buffer.
After an offer, satisfy academic conditions, college placement and the Financial Declaration before treating the place as finance-ready. Then build the CAS and Student visa file with funds held for the required period.
What jobs can follow Oxford MSc in Social Data Science?
Relevant directions in several sectors include social data science, policy analytics, trust and safety, technology research, consulting and doctoral study. The strongest evidence is the programme’s assessed work and the applicant’s prior experience, not the university name alone. The Graduate visa supplies search time rather than employment.
| Measure | Figure | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| Role directions | Social data science, policy analytics, trust and safety, technology research, consulting and doctoral study | Oxford's published MSc in Social Data Science curriculum and destination context |
| Portfolio signal | Work developed between Fundamentals of Social Data Science in Python and 12,000-word thesis | Published structure of MSc in Social Data Science |
| Graduate visa for a 2028 application | 18 months under the current rule | UK Graduate route from 1 January 2027 |
| Guaranteed placement or salary | Not published | Evidence limit |
For a MSc in Social Data Science graduate applying after 1 January 2027, the current non-doctoral Graduate route is 18 months. That can support a search in social data science, policy analytics, trust and safety, technology research, consulting and doctoral study, but occupation access, employer sponsorship and a later Skilled Worker application remain separate decisions.
A MSc in Social Data Science recruiter narrative can start with Fundamentals of Social Data Science in Python, show the student’s own analytical or leadership decision, and end with evidence from 12,000-word thesis. That chain is legible to employers in social data science, policy analytics, trust and safety, technology research, consulting and doctoral study; a list of Oxford activities without individual contribution is not.
For doctoral progression from MSc in Social Data Science, 12,000-word thesis can demonstrate method, question formation and sustained execution. A later research application still needs a defensible proposal, supervisor match and evidence of preparation beyond the taught award.
An international MSc in Social Data Science graduate should separate permission to work, entry to social data science, policy analytics, trust and safety, technology research, consulting and doctoral study and an employer’s later sponsorship decision. The 18-month Graduate route addresses only the first. Admission to MSc in Social Data Science settles none of the other labour-market tests.
OII lists Clarendon; ESRC Grand Union DTP 1+3 for applicants intending doctoral continuation (separate DTP application alongside MSc); limited OII Shirley MSc Scholarships open to all MSc applicants; and Weidenfeld-Hoffmann, Rhodes and Marshall routes. Verify nationality/course eligibility separately. Felix is potentially relevant to an eligible Indian applicant and can fund fees, a roughly £19,000 living grant and one return flight under strict conditions; submit the course application by the relevant deadline. OII’s displayed cohort profile is 28 students, 93% international, 14 nationalities, 50% female and average age 24. The page does not state which cohort/year these profile data describe, so use as a current page snapshot, not a 2027 guarantee. Central page: about 25 places in 2026-27 and 385 applications/year, averaged across 2023-24 to 2025-26. About 15.4 applications/place is a demand proxy, not an acceptance rate. Oxford names recent MSc destinations including Google, Meta, Spotify, TikTok, LinkedIn, Bumble, professional services and regulators/government; doctoral destinations include Oxford, Cambridge, Harvard, Columbia, Princeton, Sciences Po and LSE. No placement rate or salary is published.
Who is Oxford MSc in Social Data Science for, and who should avoid it?
In practice, the clearest MSc in Social Data Science fit can begin at Fundamentals of Social Data Science in Python and wants to reach 12,000-word thesis in 10 months. A weak subject match, dependence on an unconfirmed scholarship or discomfort with this calendar points to a different course.
| Verdict | Your background | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Strong fit | MSc in Social Data Science applicant with mapped foundations | The transcript and prior work support Fundamentals of Social Data Science in Python |
| Strong fit | Candidate seeking Fundamentals of Social Data Science in Python through 12,000-word thesis | The published assessment path joins those components within 10 months |
| Needs evidence | MSc in Social Data Science applicant near the academic floor | The minimum describes eligibility, not the strength of a competitive file |
| Needs evidence | MSc in Social Data Science student funding only the lower estimate | The 10-month Oxford budget rises by £700 for each month at the upper estimate |
| Do not shortlist | MSc in Social Data Science conversion applicant without prerequisites | The stated route expects machine learning, statistics, network analysis, computational social science and responsible data use before or from the start |
| Do not shortlist | MSc in Social Data Science applicant relying on guaranteed employment | Oxford publishes no MSc in Social Data Science placement or salary guarantee |
The first MSc in Social Data Science fit test is documentary. A transcript or work record that cannot connect to Fundamentals of Social Data Science in Python is a reason to compare alternatives, because prestige cannot repair a missing academic foundation.
The second MSc in Social Data Science test is instructional. Someone who dislikes the published movement from opening foundations to final assessed work would spend 10 intensive months in the wrong format, regardless of the university name.
The final MSc in Social Data Science test is liquidity. Its lower case is £57,277, about INR 73.31 lakh, before flights and housing deposits. Funding that depends on an unconfirmed award, part-time work or an immediate target-sector offer is not yet a viable plan.
Programming readiness is an admissions requirement, not remedial intent: a Python primer exists, but OII still requires prior demonstrated programming aptitude and rejects online learning as sufficient on its own. Technical depth has a social-science boundary: the current option set adds LLMs, network science, computational efficiency and AI policy, but the programme is explicitly for analysing human/social phenomena. Applicants targeting core ML engineering should compare the curriculum with their goal. There is no leisurely third term: taught hours recede, but a 12,000-word thesis and seminar replace them, after vacation assessments. Two deadlines are equally considered: November is not stated to improve admission odds; its official benefit is an earlier decision. Generic programme summaries carry stale option lists and miss the 2027 OII update adding Applied ML with LLMs and AI for Policymaking. Most blur data science with software engineering, omit the social-theory/governance core and understate the quantified weekly workload. Indian-facing pages rarely explain that online certificates alone do not meet programming readiness, or translate the first-class requirement by degree length/institution.
What does the Oxford MSc in Social Data Science curriculum contain?
Oxford currently publishes the following components for the 2026-27 course; names and availability need a 2027-28 refresh check. The published path runs from Fundamentals of Social Data Science in Python to 12,000-word thesis. Oxford does not state a comparable credit value for every component on the course profile, so the table counts listed components rather than inventing credits.
| Component | Listed components | Where it sits |
|---|---|---|
| Fundamentals of Social Data Science in Python | 1 | |
| Machine Learning | 1 | |
| Data and Society I | 1 | |
| Research Design for Social Data Science | 1 | |
| Applied Analytical Statistics | 1 | |
| Data and Society II | 1 | |
| Two options | 1 | |
| 12,000-word thesis | 1 | |
| Total | 8 |
The note “Published course component or current option” applies to 8 components in this table.
- Full-time attendance in Oxford
- Expected length is 10 months
- Current option availability can change
- No ECTS values have been invented
Read the sequence from Fundamentals of Social Data Science in Python through 12,000-word thesis. Use it to identify which prior work demonstrates readiness and which component would create the clearest new portfolio or research evidence.
Option lists are not promises. Timetabling, staffing, capacity and programme updates can change the final combination, so an application should not depend on one elective unless the refreshed handbook confirms it.
Should an Indian applicant shortlist Oxford MSc in Social Data Science?
In practice, shortlist MSc in Social Data Science when earlier study or work supports Fundamentals of Social Data Science in Python and the move towards 12,000-word thesis. The strongest return is inspectable progress across that assessment path. Funding must work without assuming part-time income or a guaranteed job.
Academic fit is unusually important because MSc in Social Data Science starts from Fundamentals of Social Data Science in Python rather than an introductory survey. Historical demand is substantial where Oxford publishes it. Applications and places are different denominators, so neither their ratio nor the formal floor predicts one person's offer.
The decisive counterweight is this: The course compresses coding, mathematics and substantive social-science reasoning into ten months; strength in only one side of that combination is not enough. The lower planning total on this page also assumes Oxford's lower living-cost estimate, not a private-room guarantee or a prediction of personal spending.
- MSc in Social Data Science is a 10-month full-time Oxford master's.
- The 2027-28 course fee used in the plan is £40,730.
- The current academic benchmark is a first-class equivalent degree in any subject, with calculus, matrix algebra and demonstrated applied programming; online courses alone are insufficient.
- The lower full-course planning case is £57,277, about INR 73.31 lakh.
- The 2027-28 deadline was not published on 8 September; most Oxford course pages refresh on 16 September 2026.
- For post-study applications in 2028, the current non-doctoral Graduate route is 18 months, not a job guarantee.
Frequently asked questions
What is the latest fee for Oxford MSc in Social Data Science?
The 2027-28 course fee is £40,730. A lower 10-month plan including living costs, the application, Student visa, estimated health surcharge and the first stated course-specific allowance is £57,277, about INR 73.31 lakh. Flights, housing deposits and exchange spread remain outside it.
When is the Oxford MSc in Social Data Science deadline?
The current position is: 13 November 2026 or 7 January 2027; equal consideration. This was checked on 8 September 2026. Where an exact 2027-28 date is not published, do not reuse the closed 2026-27 date. Check the official course page, then aim at least two weeks before the confirmed funding deadline.
What English score does Oxford MSc in Social Data Science require?
The currently published requirement is Oxford higher level: IELTS 7.5 overall and 7.0 in each component. Oxford is reviewing revised TOEFL iBT tests taken from 21 January 2026, so an applicant choosing TOEFL should read the refreshed accepted-tests guidance before booking. A medium-of-instruction letter works only where Oxford's formal exemption rule accepts it.
Does Oxford MSc in Social Data Science require GRE or GMAT?
No GRE or GMAT requirement is published. The test rule is programme-specific and cannot replace a missing degree, subject prerequisite, English condition, reference or written document. Because most non-fee information still belongs to 2026-27, confirm the exact 2027-28 rule after the 16 September refresh.
How much money is needed for an Oxford MSc in Social Data Science Student visa?
The current outside-London maintenance evidence is £1,171 monthly for up to nine months, or £10,539, plus unpaid course fees shown on the CAS. Where evidence is required, funds need a 28-day holding period and recent evidence. That visa figure is not added to this page's total because Oxford living costs are already included.
Can I work in the UK after Oxford MSc in Social Data Science?
Under the current rule, a non-doctoral graduate applying to the Graduate route from 1 January 2027 receives 18 months. A student finishing this course in 2028 would therefore plan around 18 months, subject to the rules then in force. It provides work permission, not placement or later sponsorship.
Sources
These sources support the programme, admission, cost, experience and immigration information used on this page.
Sources checked on September 8, 2026. The next intake covered here is 2027-28 entry; use the programme's current official application page.
| No. | Source | Evidence role |
|---|---|---|
| 01 | University of Oxford, MSc in Social Data Science course profile | Core programme evidence |
| 02 | Oxford Internet Institute, course information | Core programme evidence |
| 03 | University of Oxford, 2027-28 living costs | Supporting external evidence |
| 04 | University of Oxford, graduate scholarships | Supporting external evidence |
| 05 | University of Oxford, Financial Declaration | Supporting external evidence |
| 06 | UK Government, Student visa money and fee | Supporting external evidence |
| 07 | UK Government, immigration health surcharge | Supporting external evidence |
| 08 | UK Government, Graduate visa | Supporting external evidence |
| 09 | Bank of England, GBP to INR daily spot rate | Supporting external evidence |
| 10 | UKCISA, Student route eligibility and requirements | Supporting external evidence |
More programmes
