ATU MSc Biopharmaceutical Manufacturing
Atlantic Technological University · School of Science and Computing · Galway City, Ireland- Full-time
- Blended full-time
- September 2026 closed
EUR 32,640, stated assumptions
India annual display
90 ECTS
official cycle
relevant Level 8
no GRE or GMAT
component rule applies
What is MSc Biopharmaceutical Manufacturing at ATU?
EUR 32,640, about INR 36.25 lakh, is the minimum published-charge plan for MSc Biopharmaceutical Manufacturing at ATU Galway City. ATU’s official course page presents a 15-month, 90 ECTS programme built around biopharmaceutical manufacturing rather than drug discovery. The taught subjects cover bioprocessing, experimental design, validation and advanced biopharmaceutical science,
while the applied research project carries 55 ECTS and therefore controls most of the academic experience. The full-time label needs careful reading. Lectures and tutorials are delivered live online and recorded, with limited Galway practical attendance. ATU says the programme is designed for people already working in pharmaceutical or biopharmaceutical manufacturing. A student seeking daily campus laboratories, a conventional timetable or a broad biotechnology conversion degree should not infer those features from the award title. Project access is the decisive practical question. The programme expects the research to be completed with an employer or another relevant organisation. It says it will try to facilitate a project in an applied research centre for someone without a suitable workplace, but this is not the same as a guaranteed company placement. The project host, supervision and facilities should be confirmed before payment. The current September 2026 application record is closed. Its India-facing portal displays EUR 11,000 per year after a country-of-origin reduction from the EUR 14,000 gross annual charge. Since ATU has not published a fixed full-programme invoice for the extra months, the cost section uses a transparent 18-month planning extension rather than calling it a confirmed fee quote.
How much does MSc Biopharmaceutical Manufacturing cost for an Indian student?
The current eighteen-month planning estimate is EUR 32,640, approximately INR 36.25 lakh. It uses the India-facing EUR 11,000 annual tuition display, the Irish living-funds basis, insurance, visa, registration and application charges. The country reduction and any fee beyond one year require written confirmation.
Eighteen-month planning estimate
| Item | INR | Local currency | When it is due |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tuition planning basis | INR 18.32 lakh | EUR 16,500 | The EUR 16,500 tuition line extends the displayed EUR 11,000 annual charge across 18 months for planning. Treat this as a budgeting assumption until the applicant receives the binding offer and invoice. |
| Living-funds basis | INR 16.66 lakh | EUR 15,000 | Scaled from the Irish immigration finance floor |
| Medical insurance allowance | INR 0.50 lakh | EUR 450 | Planning allowance, actual policy varies |
| Immigration registration | INR 0.67 lakh | EUR 600 | EUR 300 for each assumed registration |
| Single-entry visa | INR 0.07 lakh | EUR 60 | Current visa administration charge |
| ATU application fee | INR 0.03 lakh | EUR 30 | Current DreamApply charge |
| Eighteen-month planning estimate | INR 36.25 lakh | EUR 32,640 | Before variable exclusions and fee confirmation |
The living line is an immigration finance floor, not a complete Galway, Sligo or Letterkenny household budget. Converted at EUR 1 = INR 111.0585 from the European Central Bank reference rate dated 28 August 2026. INR figures are comparisons, not remittance quotes.
The India-facing application record displays EUR 11,000 per year. It also discloses a EUR 14,000 gross annual master’s fee and a EUR 3,000 country-of-origin reduction. The displayed figure is the amount used in this plan, but the offer and invoice must confirm that the reduction applies to the applicant.
The portal states the gross basis directly.
“Based on your country of origin, you may be entitled to a Country of Origin Scholarship Discount.”ATU non-EU application portal
The EUR 3,000 country reduction cannot be subtracted a second time from the displayed EUR 11,000 charge.
Irish immigration requires immediate access to at least EUR 10,000 for the first academic year on a course longer than eight months. The finance rule is evidence for a visa application, not a promise that rent, food and transport will remain within that amount.
The EUR 16,500 tuition line extends the displayed EUR 11,000 annual charge across 18 months for planning. The final offer and invoice can therefore change this estimate. The table also allows for insurance, visa, registration and the application fee. Flights, rent deposits, document certification, police certificates, medical tests, bank spreads and spending above the finance floor remain outside the total.
The rupee comparison uses the European Central Bank reference rate of EUR 1 = INR 111.0585 dated 28 August 2026. Bank rates and remittance charges will differ, and a later exchange-rate movement changes every INR line while leaving the euro obligation unchanged.
Part-time earnings are not a funding source for the visa case. Student work permission is conditional and does not guarantee a job, hours or pay. The family plan should therefore cover the euro total before relying on income after arrival.
Can an Indian applicant enter MSc Biopharmaceutical Manufacturing?
The controlling academic rule is H2.2 Level 8 honours degree in biochemistry, microbiology, biology, chemistry, biomedical science, biomedical engineering or another cognate science discipline. English is IELTS 6.0 overall, with no component below 5.5. ATU assesses the Indian award against the Irish Level 8 honours standard, while project, experience or registration conditions remain separate where this programme requires them.
Requirements in checking order
| Requirement | Published rule | What you do |
|---|---|---|
| Academic route (India) | H2.2 Level 8 honours degree in biochemistry, microbiology, biology, chemistry, biomedical science, biomedical engineering or another cognate science discipline | Map the degree, grades and relevant modules |
| Programme evidence (India) | The application also asks for a CV of no more than three pages and a motivation statement explaining the applicant's plans and interests in biopharmaceutical or pharmaceutical manufacturing. These documents should connect prior work, laboratory exposure or projects to the proposed 55 ECTS research problem. | Prepare the course-specific evidence before payment |
| English (India) | IELTS 6.0 overall, normally no component below 5.5 | Meet the complete programme score |
| Entrance test (India) | No GRE or GMAT requirement is published | Do not spend on either test unless ATU requests it |
The programme entry section gives the course-specific route. A transcript should identify the science foundation directly. Relevant modules in biology, microbiology, biochemistry, chemistry, biomedical science or biomedical engineering are stronger evidence than a broad degree label without subject detail.
The application also asks for a CV of no more than three pages and a motivation statement explaining the applicant’s plans and interests in biopharmaceutical or pharmaceutical manufacturing. These documents should connect prior work, laboratory exposure or projects to the proposed 55 ECTS research problem.
The ATU international entry guide provides the general India comparison. It does not waive a relevant-subject, work-experience, project or professional-registration condition published by this course. ATU’s individual assessment and written offer remain controlling.
ATU may facilitate an applied research centre project where a student lacks an employer host, but the public page does not promise one. Obtain written confirmation of the likely project route, physical attendance and any examination travel before treating the blended format as workable from Galway.
How should an Indian student apply for MSc Biopharmaceutical Manufacturing?
The published deadline was 31 July 2026, intake closed, so the September 2026 closed route must not be presented as open. Use the closed cycle only as evidence of the last process, and recheck ATU before planning a later intake.
Eligibility, programme evidence, DreamApply, written offer, funding, then Irish study visa
| Start by | Task | Takes | Why this date |
|---|---|---|---|
| 02 Mar 2026 | Resolve programme fit | 21 days | Map marks, subjects and every course-specific condition. |
| 23 Mar 2026 | Prepare evidence | 28 days | Collect transcripts, passport, English result and programme documents. |
| 20 Apr 2026 | Submit through DreamApply | 21 days | Pay EUR 30 and answer any document queries. |
| 11 May 2026 | Check offer and invoice | 21 days | Confirm the intake, EUR 11,000 display and course conditions. |
| 01 Jun 2026 | File the long-stay study visa | 60 days | Prepare tuition, finance, insurance and immigration evidence. |
The allowances are Nbyula planning estimates, not processing times published by Atlantic Technological University.
The official non-EU application record controls the date and route shown here. It states that the application period has ended. A later intake should not be inferred from the previous annual date.
Start with the condition most likely to stop the file, not with document collection. That may be a cognate degree, a major project arrangement, professional registration or post-degree work experience. Resolve it in writing before paying for avoidable tests, translations or deposits.
The uploaded file should keep the academic award, complete transcript, grading scale and English result readable together. Add the programme-specific CV, statement, work evidence, registration or project material where required. Documents not in English need the original and an official translation.
Read the offer as the current source for tuition, country reduction, attendance, intake and unresolved conditions. The India-facing EUR 11,000 display is not safe to assume until the applicant’s own offer and invoice reproduce it.
The Irish long-stay study visa guidance separates the immigration case from admission. Payment evidence, access to living funds, medical insurance and other supporting documents must satisfy the rules in force when the visa is filed.
What outcomes does ATU publish for MSc Biopharmaceutical Manufacturing?
The official careers section connects the curriculum to production specialist, process science, validation, technical operations, quality assurance and manufacturing support work. These are plausible role families, but ATU does not state how many graduates obtained them or the time taken after graduation.
Published evidence and its limit
| Measure | Figure | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| ATU role alignment | Production, process science, validation, quality, manufacturing support and research roles | Official course career list |
| Sector demand | Future Skills Ireland forecasts 14,000 to 26,000 additional biopharma jobs over five years | National sector forecast, not an ATU result |
| Programme placement | Not published | No cohort percentage, salary or named employer list |
Role lists and national evidence describe direction and context. They do not prove an ATU programme placement rate, salary or employment-permit result.
The official careers section connects the curriculum to production specialist, process science, validation, technical operations, quality assurance and manufacturing support work. These are plausible role families, but ATU does not state how many graduates obtained them or the time taken after graduation.
Future Skills Ireland reports about 50,000 direct biopharma jobs at its baseline and forecasts 14,000 to 26,000 additional jobs across five years. This is useful sector context. It cannot be converted into a placement probability for one ATU cohort or one international graduate.
A qualifying Irish Level 9 graduate may use the Third Level Graduate Programme for an initial 12 months and, subject to the published conditions, a further 12 months. The immigration permission supplies job-search time. It does not supply the project host, an employer, a salary or an employment permit.
Who is MSc Biopharmaceutical Manufacturing for, and who should look elsewhere?
The strongest profile is life science graduate already working in gmp manufacturing. The uncertain profile is biomedical graduate without an employer project. Applicant seeking daily campus laboratory training should look elsewhere because the official structure does not support that expectation.
| Verdict | Your background | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Strong fit | Life science graduate already working in GMP manufacturing | Strong match for the workplace project and manufacturing-focused taught subjects. |
| Needs evidence | Biomedical graduate without an employer project | Academic fit may be sound, but the project setting needs written confirmation. |
| Do not shortlist | Applicant seeking daily campus laboratory training | The blended design and limited practical attendance do not support that expectation. |
The strongest match is life science graduate already working in gmp manufacturing. Strong match for the workplace project and manufacturing-focused taught subjects.
The middle case is biomedical graduate without an employer project. Academic fit may be sound, but the project setting needs written confirmation. The uncertainty belongs in a written ATU decision before the applicant pays a deposit or builds a visa budget.
The unsuitable case is applicant seeking daily campus laboratory training. The blended design and limited practical attendance do not support that expectation. This is a course-fit limit, not a judgement about the applicant’s ability.
What will you study in MSc Biopharmaceutical Manufacturing?
ATU publishes 11 module rows totalling 90 ECTS. The largest is Applied Research Project at 55 ECTS. The table keeps every published module and its status visible, while the current timetable, elective delivery and project arrangement still need intake-specific confirmation.
Complete published curriculum
| Code | Component | ECTS | Where it sits |
|---|---|---|---|
| Not published | Bioprocessing Technology | 5 | Semester 1, Mandatory |
| Not published | Design and Analysis of Experiments | 5 | Semester 1, Mandatory |
| Not published | Biopharmaceutical Science | 5 | Semester 1, Elective |
| Not published | Quality Management Systems and Regulatory Affairs | 5 | Semester 1, Elective |
| Not published | Applied Immunology, Immunotherapeutics and Vaccine Technology | 5 | Semester 2, Elective |
| Not published | Six Sigma Management | 5 | Semester 2, Mandatory |
| Not published | Validation for Biopharmaceuticals | 5 | Semester 2, Mandatory |
| Not published | Biopharmaceutical Facilities | 5 | Semester 2, Elective |
| Not published | Machine Learning and Vision | 5 | Semester 2, Elective, unavailable in upcoming year |
| Not published | Advanced Biopharmaceutical Science | 10 | Across year, Mandatory |
| Not published | Applied Research Project | 55 | Across year, Mandatory |
| Total | 90 |
- Complete 90 ECTS for the named Level 9 award
- Follow the current timetable and approved project arrangement
- Treat an elective as available only when ATU confirms delivery
- Meet attendance, assessment and project requirements for the selected route
The course is structured around manufacturing science, validation, Six Sigma and a large applied workplace research project. This balance matters more than the number of module titles because the largest project or dissertation determines a substantial share of the student’s time, assessment and later portfolio evidence.
The table reproduces the complete module set published on the official ATU page. ATU does not publish individual module codes there, so the code cells say that directly instead of inventing identifiers.
A catalogue table does not guarantee that an elective, project host, timetable or assessment format will remain unchanged for a later intake. The offer, registration material and current module descriptors should settle the actual academic plan before enrolment.
Should you shortlist MSc Biopharmaceutical Manufacturing?
This is a specialised, project-heavy route for a science or biomedical engineering graduate who already understands manufacturing work and can secure a credible applied research setting. The short taught component can deepen validation, quality and process knowledge, while the 55 ECTS project gives substantial room to solve one real manufacturing problem.
This is a specialised, project-heavy route for a science or biomedical engineering graduate who already understands manufacturing work and can secure a credible applied research setting. The short taught component can deepen validation, quality and process knowledge, while the 55 ECTS project gives substantial room to solve one real manufacturing problem. This page doesn't turn a module list into a job promise. ATU hasn't published a programme placement rate, and the India-facing fee isn't guaranteed for a later cycle.
Do not shortlist it as a laboratory-rich campus conversion MSc. A student without a workplace or approved project setting faces the largest unresolved condition, and an applicant choosing the course for Machine Learning and Vision should note that ATU says this elective will not run in the upcoming academic year.
Decision checkscomplete cost · entry route · application timing · outcome evidence
- MSc Biopharmaceutical Manufacturing is a 15 months, 90 ECTS, full-time Level 9 award at Galway City.
- The defining academic feature is manufacturing science, validation, Six Sigma and a large applied workplace research project.
- The current entry route is H2.2 Level 8 honours degree in biochemistry, microbiology, biology, chemistry, biomedical science, biomedical engineering or another cognate science discipline.
- The India-facing portal displays EUR 11,000 per year after a country reduction from the EUR 14,000 gross annual fee.
- The current application position is 31 July 2026, intake closed, and ATU publishes no programme placement rate.
Frequently asked questions
Who should apply for MSc Biopharmaceutical Manufacturing?
The strongest applicant matches the published academic field and the course's distinctive workload. For this programme that means manufacturing science, validation, Six Sigma and a large applied workplace research project. Check the project, professional or attendance condition separately rather than relying only on the Level 8 degree and minimum grade.
What is the ATU fee for MSc Biopharmaceutical Manufacturing?
The India-facing application portal displays EUR 11,000 per year after a EUR 3,000 country-of-origin reduction from the EUR 14,000 gross annual fee. Treat the reduction as conditional until it appears in the applicant's written offer and invoice, and do not subtract it twice.
How long is MSc Biopharmaceutical Manufacturing?
ATU publishes 15 months and 90 ECTS for the selected full-time route. The duration should be read with the module balance and delivery pattern, because a large dissertation or partner project can dominate the calendar even when the taught module list is relatively short.
What academic background does MSc Biopharmaceutical Manufacturing require?
ATU requires the relevant Level 8 honours route described above, including the stated field, grade and any experience, registration or project condition. Submit the complete transcript and grading scale. ATU's individual assessment, not a self-converted Indian percentage, controls the admission decision.
What English score is needed for MSc Biopharmaceutical Manufacturing?
The evidence checked for this programme gives IELTS 6.0 overall, with no component below 5.5. English results normally need to be within two years of the course start. Use the stricter programme-linked score where it differs from ATU's central postgraduate rule, and obtain written confirmation before booking another test.
Is the September 2026 closed application open?
No. The published deadline was 31 July 2026, intake closed, and ATU marks the application period closed. Do not reuse that date as a future deadline. Wait for the next official cycle, then recheck the intake, tuition, modules, entry conditions and scholarship display before applying.
Does MSc Biopharmaceutical Manufacturing guarantee a job in Ireland?
No. ATU publishes curriculum and role direction but no programme-level placement percentage or salary for this course. The Level 9 graduate scheme may provide eligible graduates with job-search time, while an actual job and employment permit still depend on the occupation, employer, salary and current rules.
Is the MSc Biopharmaceutical Manufacturing fully on campus?
No. ATU describes live online lectures and tutorials, recordings, limited Galway practical attendance and possible examinations in Ireland. The programme is full-time in the application system but designed around working professionals and a large applied project. Confirm attendance, examination and project-location requirements before making housing or employment plans.
Sources
These sources support the programme, admission, cost, experience and immigration information used on this page.
Sources checked on August 31, 2026. Current intake information follows. September 2026 closed.
More programmes

Leave a Reply