The latest Kazakhstan government scholarship cycle offered 550 places for foreign citizens, with applications from 30 March to 31 May 2026. The allocation was 490 bachelor, 50 master and 10 PhD awards. That cycle is closed, and the Ministry has published its final list of 550 winners for 2026-27.
The 2026 rules are a preparation map for an Indian student planning the next cycle, not a 2027 deadline. The current operator is JSC Center for International Programs, and the application portal is Study In Kazakhstan. A valid application joins three separate checks, academic eligibility, a complete document file, and a course that appears in the live portal.
What happened in the latest scholarship cycle?
The operator’s 2026 programme page opened online applications at studyin.kz/admission from 30 March through 31 May 2026, ending at 11.59 pm Astana time. It named 550 scholarships and allowed the application to be completed in Kazakh, Russian or English.
“Applicants can apply online from 30 March to 31 May 2026.”
JSC Center for International Programs
| Degree level | 2026 allocation | Share of 550 places | Current cycle status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bachelor degree | 490 | 89.1% | Final 2026-27 list published |
| Master degree | 50 | 9.1% | Final 2026-27 list published |
| PhD degree | 10 | 1.8% | Final 2026-27 list published |
The percentages describe the allocation, not the chance of success at each level.
The Ministry’s final release reports 16,098 candidates from 71 countries. Twenty-seven universities offered 886 programmes, and winners came from 49 countries. Dividing 550 by 16,098 gives about 3.4 percent, but that combined ratio is not an Indian applicant’s probability because level, nationality, course and university pools are not separated.
No 2027 dates were published on the operator page when checked on 20 August 2026. A prepared file can follow the current evidence requirements, while its health documents, portal fields, course availability and dates need a live-cycle recheck.
The 2026 outcome settles which facts are historical and which need refreshing. The award split, application window, applicant count and winner count belong to the completed cycle. The next deadline, participating courses, document-validity rules and portal questions belong to the next announcement. Keeping those groups separate prevents a past date from being presented as a future promise.
Which Kazakhstan scholarship is this?
This is the Scholarship Program for Studying at Universities in Kazakhstan. It is an inbound programme for foreign citizens, including people of Kazakh nationality who are not citizens of Kazakhstan. The government programme summary says it provides 550 grant-funded places annually at Kazakhstan higher-education institutions.
It isn’t the outbound Bolashak International Scholarship. Bolashak supports eligible Kazakhstan citizens studying abroad and has different routes, evidence and obligations. The shared name on the operator’s website can cause confusion, so the programme title and applicant nationality matter more than the website header.
The correct 2026 page says “Scholarship Program for Studying at Universities in Kazakhstan”, names JSC Center for International Programs as operator and links to studyin.kz/admission. A page about Kazakhstan citizens studying overseas describes a different scholarship.
The programme has run since 2019. It covers bachelor, master and PhD study at participating Kazakhstan universities. It does not create a general cash award that can be taken to any institution. The selected university and programme form part of the award.
Who meets the academic eligibility rules?
Every level carries a first-time-study rule. The current operator requirements say the applicant is eligible only when that level is being pursued for the first time. A student seeking a first bachelor’s degree is assessed against secondary education, while master and PhD applicants are assessed against the relevant previous degree.
“The applicant is eligible for the scholarship if each education level is pursued for the first time.”
Current scholarship operator requirements
| Applicant level | Prior qualification | Academic floor | Recommendations | Additional level evidence |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bachelor applicant | Secondary education | At least the equivalent of “good” | One | No operator-level language certificate listed |
| Master applicant | Bachelor or specialist degree | At least 3.0 out of 4.0 GPA or equivalent | Two | Language certificate unless the current exemption applies |
| PhD applicant | Master degree | At least 3.0 out of 4.0 GPA or equivalent | Two | Language certificate and dissertation-topic justification |
These are scholarship floors. A university or programme may apply its own admission evidence inside the live portal.
The Bachelor applicant row uses a verbal floor because the current operator does not convert “good” into an Indian-board percentage. The Master applicant and PhD applicant rows use the current 3.0 GPA requirement. An older official information page still displays 2.33, but the current operator and current government summary both show 3.0, which is the safer current rule.
Meeting a floor does not create an award. It allows the file to enter competitive consideration when every required document is present. Selection still uses the uploaded evidence, adaptive-potential test and online interview.
Which documents does each applicant need?
The operator’s document checklist starts with identity, prior education, a transcript, notarised translation, a motivation essay, medical evidence and the application form. The number of recommendations and the academic add-ons change by level. An invitation from a Kazakhstan university is optional when available.
| Document or evidence | Bachelor | Master | PhD | Evidence detail |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Identity document | Required | Required | Required | Refugee certificate is included for bachelor applicants where relevant |
| Previous qualification | Required | Required | Required | Include transcript and attachment if available |
| Notarised translation | Required | Required | Required | Kazakh, Russian or English |
| Motivation essay | Required | Required | Required | Kazakh, Russian or English |
| Recommendation letters | One | Two | Two | From the educational institution or employer |
| Medical certificates | Required | Required | Required | Study-abroad health certificate and official HIV/AIDS absence certificate |
| Language certificate | Not listed as a general operator requirement | Required unless exempt | Required unless exempt | Use the test and language of the proposed programme |
| Research justification | Not applicable | Not applicable | Required | Proposed dissertation topic in the instruction language |
| University invitation | Optional | Optional | Optional | Include if already available |
| Application form | Required | Required | Required | Use the current operator form and live portal |
Identity document and previous qualification are uploaded as evidence, not typed as unsupported claims. The notarised translation must accompany the education record where needed. Medical certificates are two separate ideas in the operator wording, general fitness for study abroad and official confirmation of absence of HIV infection and AIDS.
The operator doesn’t publish one national price for translation, notarisation, tests or medical certificates. Those expenses remain applicant-funded unless an award document later says otherwise. Starting them early may reduce deadline pressure, but issue dates and validity must still match the live cycle.
What language evidence is accepted?
For English-medium master and PhD applications, the current operator lists IELTS Academic 5.5, TOEFL iBT 46 and TOEFL PBT 453 among the accepted thresholds. It also lists German, French and Chinese certificates. The exact proposed programme language determines which route matters.
The current operator page says an international language certificate is not required when previous education was delivered in the programme’s language. That exemption needs evidence from the prior institution, not merely a claim that some classes were in English. The live portal wording remains decisive if it changes.
No general operator language certificate is listed for the Bachelor applicant row. That does not promise admission to every English-medium bachelor’s course without language evidence. The participating institution and programme can require evidence within its own admission process, so the programme record and scholarship floor are separate checks.
Proposed programme language + accepted current certificate or documented exemption + any university-specific admission requirement
How is a university and programme chosen?
The operator says participating universities and available fields are displayed in the Study In portal during the application process. That makes the live portal the selection source. A university appearing in a previous PDF, blog or winner announcement does not prove that the same course is open in the next cycle.
This rule matters for medicine. A scholarship cannot be described as covering MBBS unless the exact medical programme appears in the live cycle and the applicant wins that placement. The Kazakhstan medical-university evidence can support academic comparison, while the portal alone establishes scholarship availability for that cycle.
The same caution applies outside medicine. The 2026 pool contained 886 programmes across 27 universities, but the Ministry’s aggregate count does not provide a 2027 list. The student needs the course title, university, degree level, teaching language and application choice to match.
A Kazakhstan university invitation is optional on the current operator checklist. An applicant without one still needs to select an available programme in the portal, while an applicant with one still faces scholarship competition. The invitation can support university contact, but it doesn’t replace the portal choice, academic floor, adaptive-potential test, interview or final commission decision.
The portal choice also determines the evidence that sits beyond the scholarship minimum. A programme may ask for a subject prerequisite, portfolio or its own language proof. Those requirements belong to admission at the named institution, while the operator matrix on this page describes entry to the scholarship competition.
How does competitive selection work?
Selection has three evidence stages in the published description. The commission considers the submitted documents, the result of an online test for adaptive potential, and an online interview. Minimum eligibility is therefore necessary but not sufficient.
- The portal file establishes identity, prior education and required supporting evidence.
- The academic floor is checked for the selected degree level.
- The available university and programme are selected inside the live application system.
- The online assessment measures the published adaptive-potential criterion.
- Eligible candidates proceed through the online interview stage.
- The commission forms the winner list for the available awards.
- The selected university completes enrolment for the named programme.
The 3.4 percent overall result derived from 550 winners and 16,098 candidates is best read as evidence of strong competition. It cannot tell an Indian master’s applicant the probability for one programme because the Ministry does not publish that cross-tabulation.
A motivation essay and recommendations therefore need to support the same academic direction as the programme choice. Repeating rankings or generic praise does not substitute for the required evidence. The page cannot assign unofficial interview questions or scores because the current primary pages do not publish them.
What does the scholarship pay for?
The official coverage page names two benefits. It covers the full cost of tuition and a monthly allowance that depends on academic progress. It also names four exclusions, travel, accommodation, visa and medical insurance.
“Scholarship DOES NOT COVER … travel cost … accommodation expences … visa, medical insurance expences.”
Official scholarship coverage page
| Budget item | Published status | What the student can rely on |
|---|---|---|
| Full tuition | Covered | Tuition for the awarded programme |
| Monthly allowance | Covered conditionally | Paid subject to academic progress, amount not stated programme-wide |
| Accommodation | Expressly excluded | Student needs a separate room plan and payment |
| Travel to Kazakhstan | Expressly excluded | Student funds ticket, baggage and transfer |
| Visa | Expressly excluded | Student funds the applicable C9 charge |
| Medical insurance | Expressly excluded | Student obtains and funds required cover |
| Translations and notarisation | Not promised | Remain applicant-funded unless the award contract says otherwise |
| Medical and HIV tests | Not promised | Required evidence with no programme-wide reimbursement stated |
| Food and personal spending | Not separately guaranteed | Allowance may contribute, but the student retains the budget risk |
Full tuition means the awarded programme’s tuition, not every cost in the university contract or arrival process. Monthly allowance means a recurring payment linked to progress, not a published promise that rent and food will be fully met. The current operator page does not state one 2026 allowance amount for every winner.
KBTU’s page with a retained 2025 application window publishes reference allowance amounts of KZT 52,372 for bachelor students, KZT 117,098 for master students and KZT 262,500 for PhD students. These are historical university reference figures, not a current 2026-27 or programme-wide guarantee.
The dated comparison remains financially useful. KBTU’s 2025-26 dormitory schedule ranges from KZT 40,000 to KZT 60,000 monthly. The room alone was about 76 percent to 115 percent of the historical bachelor allowance reference before food, transport, mobile service or insurance. Both amounts need reconfirmation for a later award.
An award letter needs to settle four allowance details before it can enter a family cash-flow plan. They are the monthly amount for the student’s level, the first payment date, any academic-progress condition and the payment account. The operator’s public 2026 announcement does not supply those four answers, so a university reference amount remains only a reference.
What must a winner still budget?
Accommodation is the largest expressly excluded line in many student budgets. ENU’s 2026-27 residence prices run from KZT 220,000 to KZT 400,000 for the academic year, and the amount is paid in full on move-in day. Its first-year application window ran from 10 to 25 August 2026.
A winner can therefore receive tuition coverage and still need an immediate room payment. The Kazakhstan student living-cost guide separates monthly spending from arrival cash, refundable deposits and annual residence charges.
The statutory C9 charge is USD 80 for single entry and USD 200 for a one-year multiple-entry visa. At the 20 August 2026 cross-rate, those were about INR 7,656 and INR 19,140 before payment charges. The correct visa route belongs in the Kazakhstan student-visa plan.
Travel, medical insurance, document work, health tests, arrival transport, food, winter clothing and emergency travel also need amounts. No current programme-wide official price was found for most of those items. A family budget should leave them blank until a provider quotation exists rather than replacing them with an unexplained consultancy package.
Before travel, the student needs the university’s residence decision, payment deadline, allowance amount and first payment date, plus visa, insurance and flight costs. Tuition coverage solves only the tuition line.
What is the application sequence?
The 2026 route was online through studyin.kz/admission. The application could be completed in Kazakh, Russian or English. The next cycle may retain that system, but dates, programme choices, form fields and accepted evidence require a new operator-page check.
- Open the current operator announcement and record the live opening and closing time.
- Use the Study In portal linked by the operator, not the outbound Bolashak application route.
- Select only a university and programme displayed for the correct degree level.
- Upload identity, education, transcript and notarised translation in the required form.
- Add the motivation essay, correct number of recommendations and both health certificates.
- Add language evidence and a PhD research justification where the level requires them.
- Complete the online assessment and interview stages communicated through the process.
- After selection, obtain the university enrolment, residence, visa and allowance instructions.
The portal is JavaScript-rendered and did not expose its full live programme catalogue in the fetched text. That is a reason to inspect it during the application window, not a reason to borrow an older programme list. Screenshots of every completed section and submission confirmation provide a useful personal record.
The study in Kazakhstan overview connects the scholarship to admissions and arrival planning. Medical applicants also need the India-return medicine checks before funding makes a programme suitable.
- The latest cycle ran from 30 March to 31 May 2026 and is closed.
- JSC Center for International Programs operates the foreign-citizen scholarship through studyin.kz/admission.
- The 2026 allocation was 490 bachelor, 50 master and 10 PhD awards.
- Current master and PhD eligibility uses a 3.0 out of 4.0 GPA floor, not the older 2.33 figure.
- The award covers full tuition and a progress-linked allowance, but excludes housing, travel, visa and medical insurance.
- A university and programme must appear in the live portal for the relevant cycle.
- A winner still needs an arrival-cash plan before accepting and travelling.
Frequently asked questions
Who can apply for the Kazakhstan government scholarship?
Foreign citizens, including people of Kazakh nationality who are not Kazakhstan citizens, can apply for a participating bachelor, master or PhD programme. The level must be pursued for the first time. Academic evidence is at least “good” for bachelor entry and 3.0 out of 4.0 GPA for master and PhD.
When is the 2027 Kazakhstan scholarship deadline?
No 2027 deadline was published on the operator page checked on 20 August 2026. The latest cycle accepted applications from 30 March to 31 May 2026 at 11.59 pm Astana time. Use those dates only for preparation, then rely on the next official operator announcement for the actual window.
How many Kazakhstan scholarships were offered in 2026?
The allocation was 550, comprising 490 bachelor, 50 master and 10 PhD places. The Ministry later confirmed a final main list of 550 winners for 2026-27. It also reported 16,098 applicants, but the resulting 3.4 percent overall ratio is not a programme-specific or nationality-specific success probability.
Does the Kazakhstan scholarship cover accommodation?
No. The official coverage page expressly excludes accommodation, travel, visa and medical insurance. Full tuition and a monthly allowance linked to academic progress are covered. A winner still needs a dormitory or private-housing offer, its payment deadline, an arrival-cash reserve and the actual allowance schedule before travelling.
Is IELTS required for the Kazakhstan scholarship?
For English-medium master and PhD applications, the current operator lists IELTS Academic 5.5, TOEFL iBT 46 and TOEFL PBT 453. It states that a certificate is not required when previous education was in the programme language. Bachelor and university-specific requirements still need the live programme record.
Can an Indian student get a medical scholarship in Kazakhstan?
Only when the exact medical programme appears in the live scholarship portal and the student wins that placement. The 2026 aggregate programme count does not prove medicine will be available in the next cycle. An Indian applicant must also assess the course and internship against current NMC foreign-medical requirements.
Where is the official Kazakhstan scholarship application?
The 2026 operator linked applications to studyin.kz/admission and allowed Kazakh, Russian or English. The operator was JSC Center for International Programs. Use the portal link from the current bolashak.gov.kz scholarship-programme announcement, because similarly named outbound Bolashak pages and old application links serve different routes or cycles.
Sources
- JSC Center for International Programs 2026 scholarship announcement
- Current bachelor, master and PhD applicant requirements
- Operator participating-universities page
- Official Study In Kazakhstan application portal
- Government Study in Kazakhstan programme summary
- Ministry 2026-27 winner and competition release
- Official award coverage, exclusions and selection stages
- Kazakhstan e-government outbound Bolashak description
- KBTU scholarship allowance reference
- KBTU residence schedule
- ENU 2026-27 residence prices and timing
- Kazakhstan national consular tariff
- Kazakhstan Embassy in India C9 information
- National Bank of Kazakhstan official exchange rates

Leave a Reply