,

Cost of Living in Kazakhstan: Three Student Budgets

Ankit Kumar Avatar

·

14 min read · Published on August 27, 2026 · Updated on August 27, 2026

The clearest official student range for the cost of living in Kazakhstan is KZT 84,800 to KZT 216,100 a month in Nazarbayev University’s incoming-student guide. At the 20 August 2026 central-bank rate, that is about INR 17,557 to INR 44,741. It includes campus accommodation, food, mobile service, laundry, study materials and transport.

That range is an Astana university benchmark, not a national average. Official Almaty university records show rooms at KZT 40,000 to KZT 108,050 a month, while a Karaganda medical residence asks for KZT 275,000 to KZT 330,000 for ten months in one payment. A useful family budget therefore names the university, room, payment period, deposit, daily spending and arrival cash separately.

What is a useful monthly starting point for Kazakhstan?

Nazarbayev University’s incoming-student guide provides the strongest complete monthly basket found. Its lower total is KZT 84,800 and its upper total is KZT 216,100. The difference isn’t an error. Food alone ranges from KZT 60,000 to KZT 150,000, while the room range moves from KZT 18,300 to KZT 40,600.

“The cost of living can vary greatly depending on your lifestyle, budget and spending habits.”

Nazarbayev University incoming-student guide

The guide also publishes a worked example of KZT 173,550 a month. Food accounts for KZT 126,000, accommodation KZT 22,000, clothes KZT 7,000, transport KZT 7,500, laundry KZT 3,800, gym KZT 5,000 and insurance KZT 2,250. It is one university example rather than a promise about every student.

Monthly budget formula
Room payment for the actual contract + food + mobile + transport + laundry + study materials + health and personal spending + monthly share of annual costs

Tuition doesn’t belong in that monthly living total. It needs its own schedule because many universities bill by semester or year. The same separation matters for Kazakhstan medical tuition, where a low annual fee can still sit beside a large arrival payment.

Which official costs are published by city?

University residence evidence is more dependable than a generic private-rent average because it names the room provider and payment period. It still isn’t interchangeable. One institution may quote per day, another per month, and another for an academic year. A deposit may be refundable even when it is collected with the room charge.

City and official provider Published housing amount Period and status What remains unresolved
Almaty, KIMEP KZT 108,050 monthly plus KZT 71,180 security deposit 2026-27 schedule Availability and contract length for the student’s room
Almaty, KBTU KZT 40,000 to KZT 60,000 monthly 2025-26 schedule, recheck required 2026-27 price, allocation and billing months
Astana, Nazarbayev University KZT 610 to KZT 1,310 per day Incoming guide with 125-day semester examples Exact academic-calendar days for the programme
Astana, ENU KZT 220,000 to KZT 400,000 annually 2026-27 schedule, paid in full at move-in Room allocation for the individual student
Karaganda, QMU KZT 275,000 to KZT 330,000 First-year 2026-27, ten months Refundable deposit amount within the total
Karaganda, Buketov University KZT 100,000 to KZT 160,000 annually Academic year not stated Current-year price and applicable student category
Semey, Semey Medical University From USD 800 annually Approximate international-student figure, year not stated Room type, exact KZT invoice and programme
Shymkent universities reviewed No current amount published Residence access described Price, payment period, deposit and availability

Figures were checked on 20 August 2026. They are named university records, not citywide averages or private-rent quotations.

The absence of a Shymkent number is useful information. Shymkent University says placement is competitive through a commission, and South Kazakhstan Medical Academy says residence fees are set by the university. Neither reviewed page gives a current price. A confident online package figure cannot fill that official gap.

How does the official Astana student budget work?

The NU range is internally consistent because every component comes from one guide. It also shows why food deserves its own line. At the lower end, food is more than three times the accommodation figure. At the upper end, it forms about 69 percent of the KZT 216,100 total.

NU monthly category Lower KZT Upper KZT Lower INR Upper INR
Campus accommodation 18,300 40,600 3,789 8,406
Food 60,000 150,000 12,422 31,056
Mobile service 2,500 6,500 518 1,346
Laundry 2,000 4,000 414 828
Stationery and copying 1,000 5,000 207 1,035
Transport 1,000 10,000 207 2,070
Total 84,800 216,100 17,557 44,741

INR values use INR 1 = KZT 4.83. Bank and card charges are not included.

Campus accommodation is the smaller of the two major NU lines, while food drives most of the range. Mobile service adds KZT 2,500 to KZT 6,500. Stationery and copying add KZT 1,000 to KZT 5,000. Their separate rows stop a low room price from being mistaken for a complete month.

ENU’s 2026-27 residence schedule shows a different cash pattern in the same city. Its annual prices run from KZT 220,000 to KZT 400,000, equal to about INR 45,549 to INR 82,816. The entire approved amount is due on move-in day. Dividing it by twelve may help comparison, but it does not change the payment deadline.

Transport payment method also changes the visible price. Astana’s official tariff is KZT 110 for a cashless city-bus ride and KZT 220 in cash. Forty-four ordinary rides would therefore be KZT 4,840 cashless or KZT 9,680 in cash. Express routes have separate higher tariffs.

How should an Almaty housing budget be built?

Almaty needs a room-first calculation because the two official university records are far apart. KBTU’s 2025-26 schedule lists KZT 40,000 to KZT 60,000 monthly for the named foreign-student room types. KIMEP’s 2026-27 schedule lists KZT 108,050 monthly and a KZT 71,180 security deposit.

The KIMEP bed is about INR 22,371 a month at the 20 August rate, while its deposit is about INR 14,737. The KBTU range is about INR 8,282 to INR 12,422 a month. Those differences can reflect institution, building, occupancy and year. They do not prove that every Almaty room falls inside either range.

A transparent Almaty planning case can combine the KBTU room with NU’s non-housing range of KZT 66,500 to KZT 175,500. That gives KZT 106,500 to KZT 235,500 a month. It is mixed-source arithmetic, not a KBTU food estimate or an Almaty average. Replacing the room with KIMEP changes the monthly case to KZT 174,550 to KZT 283,550 before its deposit.

The latest official Almaty fare announcement located set an ordinary ride at KZT 120, a monthly pass at KZT 9,900 and an eligible student pass at KZT 4,200. It dates from 2024, so the live tariff and student eligibility need checking before the figure enters a 2027 budget.

Private rent remains unresolved

No current official citywide series suitable for one international student was found. A private-room quote needs its address, utilities, deposit, commission, contract term and number of sharers. It should not be inferred from a university dormitory price.

Can regional university cities cost less?

They can have lower published residence prices, but the evidence does not support one blanket regional discount. Karaganda has useful official dormitory figures. Semey publishes an approximate international-student basket in US dollars. Shymkent universities reviewed here do not publish a current residence price.

Karaganda Medical University’s first-year notice asks KZT 275,000 to KZT 330,000 for ten months. That is about INR 56,936 to INR 68,323 in arrival cash. The total includes a refundable deposit equal to one month, but the university does not separate its amount. The whole payment belongs in cash planning, while only the non-refunded part belongs in final net expense.

Buketov University’s residence page lists KZT 100,000 to KZT 160,000 annually across its student categories. Its page does not visibly identify the academic year. It is a useful lead for the student’s written residence offer, not a safe current-year assumption.

Semey Medical University lists accommodation from USD 800 a year for international bachelor students. At USD 1 = INR 95.70, that begins around INR 76,558. The same page allows up to USD 100 for medical examination and service, USD 230 for an annual multiple visa and about USD 300 for other costs. These figures are approximate and lack an academic-year label.

Karaganda’s older official fare announcement set cashless travel at KZT 100 and cash travel at KZT 200. Like Astana, cash doubles the ordinary fare in the published record. The amount itself needs a current recheck, but the payment-method lesson remains relevant when setting up the first week.

Why can arrival cash exceed the monthly budget?

Annual and refundable amounts arrive before ordinary spending settles. ENU can collect KZT 220,000 to KZT 400,000 for residence on move-in day. QMU’s ten-month residence total includes a deposit. KIMEP publishes a separate KZT 71,180 security deposit. None of those becomes smaller because a spreadsheet divides it into monthly shares.

An arrival ledger separates each amount by payee and refund status. Its lines are different from the recurring monthly basket because several are collected once, before the student has a local account or normal spending routine.

  • Residence amount due before or on move-in, with the exact billing period
  • Refundable security deposit and the written conditions for its return
  • Food and daily transport until the first regular family transfer arrives
  • Local SIM, transport card, laundry credit and basic kitchen items
  • Winter clothing and bedding not supplied with the room
  • Visa, medical insurance and any required medical examination
  • One-way flight, baggage and airport-to-campus transfer
  • Emergency travel reserve kept separate from ordinary spending

“We recommend bringing between 400-500 USD minimum to cover your personal expenses during the first two months.”

Nazarbayev University incoming-student guide

USD 400 to USD 500 was about INR 38,279 to INR 47,849 at the 20 August cross-rate. NU links that recommendation to kitchen items, winter clothes, food, a SIM, a transport card, laundry and internet during August and September. It must not be mistaken for a national visa funds rule or a guaranteed two-month total elsewhere.

Residence access can have a separate deadline as well. ENU’s first-year application window for 2026-27 ran from 10 to 25 August through its Platonus system. A family may therefore need the whole room payment soon after an offer or scholarship result, not after several months of saving.

Cash required is not the same as money consumed

A refundable deposit leaves the bank account at move-in but may return at checkout. Keep it in the arrival-cash column and mark the refund condition. Do not multiply it as a repeated annual living expense without a new contract.

Which costs sit outside ordinary monthly spending?

The national C9 study-visa tariff is USD 80 for single entry and USD 200 for a one-year multiple-entry visa. Those equal about INR 7,656 and INR 19,140 at the official cross-rate. Bank charges remain additional. NU estimates visa issuance at five business days, while a higher university planning allowance does not change the statutory tariff.

Insurance, document translation, notarisation, medical tests, flights and airport transfer have no current programme-wide official price. They remain real categories because the visa and university processes require or imply them. The amount depends on the student’s provider and route, so inserting a generic agent number would create false precision.

Winter clothing also belongs outside the ordinary warm-weather month. NU’s guide describes Astana winters as cold and long, with heavy outerwear, boots, gloves, thermal layers and a winter hat among the practical needs. Buying before travel and buying after arrival can produce different costs, but the official guide publishes no universal clothing price.

Return travel is another annual or irregular line. A first-year budget needs at least the expected route, baggage, airport transfer and an emergency-travel reserve. These costs are separate even for a Kazakhstan government scholarship, because the award expressly excludes travel, accommodation, visa and medical insurance.

“The host party (the University) is responsible for submitting the notification. Foreign nationals do not need to contact the immigration police themselves.”

Nazarbayev University international applicant information

The arrival notification must be submitted within three working days under the national migration rule. It is not a separate student fee in the official evidence. The student still needs to reach the university office and supply the requested documents promptly. The wider study in Kazakhstan guide explains the C9 document and renewal route.

How should tenge be converted into Indian rupees?

The National Bank of Kazakhstan published INR 1 = KZT 4.83 on 20 August 2026. Dividing a tenge amount by 4.83 gives the common reference in rupees. KZT 100,000 is about INR 20,704, and KZT 1 million is about INR 2.07 lakh.

The same table gave USD 1 = KZT 462.22. Dividing 462.22 by 4.83 produces the USD cross-rate of about INR 95.70 used for the Semey and visa examples. Showing both inputs matters because the university may invoice in KZT even when its web page uses dollars.

Conversion formula
KZT amount ÷ 4.83 = reference INR amount
USD amount × 95.70 = reference INR amount

A bank, card or remittance provider can add an exchange-rate markup and transfer charge. The family therefore needs two INR columns. One uses the dated official reference for comparison. The other uses the actual payable quotation on the transfer date. A later-year budget needs a new rate rather than the 2026 value copied forward.

What do three worked student budgets show?

The cases below are designed to be edited. Astana is one complete university basket. Almaty and Karaganda use named official housing evidence plus NU’s published non-housing range as a common planning allowance. That mixed method exposes the assumption instead of presenting an invented city average.

Worked case Housing basis Monthly or monthly-equivalent KZT Model-period KZT Model-period INR
Almaty with KBTU room KZT 40,000 to 60,000 monthly, 2025-26 schedule 106,500 to 235,500 1,278,000 to 2,826,000 2.65 lakh to 5.85 lakh
Astana at NU Included in NU’s complete monthly range 84,800 to 216,100 1,017,600 to 2,593,200 2.11 lakh to 5.37 lakh
Karaganda with QMU residence KZT 275,000 to 330,000 for ten months, including refundable deposit 94,000 to 208,500 during ten residence months 1,073,000 to 2,436,000 for 12 non-housing months plus 10 residence months 2.22 lakh to 5.04 lakh for the same period

Almaty assumes twelve room payments only for arithmetic comparison. Karaganda adds the full ten-month QMU payment to twelve months of non-housing spending. Tuition, flights, visa, insurance, documents and unpriced private housing remain outside every case.

Almaty with KBTU room is a twelve-payment envelope, not a confirmed twelve-month contract. Astana at NU annualises one complete official monthly basket. Karaganda with QMU residence combines ten residence months with twelve non-housing months. Housing for the other two months is unpriced and excluded from that model.

The Almaty first-year case multiplies the monthly room by twelve, although the official source does not state that a contract covers all twelve months. It is therefore an envelope rather than an invoice. A student’s actual residence period replaces that assumption. KIMEP would need its separate deposit added to arrival cash.

The Karaganda model is deliberately labelled by its period rather than as a full first year. It contains the entire residence payment, including an unspecified refundable portion. Its monthly equivalent spreads KZT 275,000 to KZT 330,000 across ten residence months, then adds the KZT 66,500 to KZT 175,500 non-housing allowance.

The budget is ready only after tuition, first residence due date, refund condition, visa choice, insurance quotation, flight, winter setup and transfer charges are added. The Kazakhstan study guide connects those costs to admissions, while the medical-university comparison helps identify the institution whose residence and tuition records matter.

Key takeaways

  • The strongest complete official benchmark is KZT 84,800 to KZT 216,100 monthly at Nazarbayev University in Astana.
  • Almaty university rooms in the reviewed records range from KZT 40,000 to KZT 108,050 monthly, but the schedules come from different years and institutions.
  • Karaganda QMU collects KZT 275,000 to KZT 330,000 for ten months, including a refundable one-month deposit.
  • ENU’s annual residence charge is due in full at move-in, so arrival cash can be much larger than a monthly average.
  • No current official Shymkent residence price or citywide private-rent series suitable for one student was found.
  • Every INR value uses the dated official rate of INR 1 = KZT 4.83 and excludes the bank’s exchange-rate markup.

Frequently asked questions

How much is the monthly cost of living in Kazakhstan for a student?

Nazarbayev University’s official Astana guide gives KZT 84,800 to KZT 216,100 monthly, about INR 17,557 to INR 44,741 at the 20 August 2026 rate. It includes campus housing, food, mobile, laundry, study materials and transport. Another university or private room can produce a different total.

Is Almaty more expensive than Karaganda for students?

The reviewed residence records suggest a higher Almaty room can cost more, but they do not prove a citywide ranking. Almaty examples run from KZT 40,000 to KZT 108,050 monthly. Karaganda QMU asks KZT 275,000 to KZT 330,000 for ten months, including a refundable deposit.

How much does a university hostel cost in Kazakhstan?

Official examples range widely. KBTU lists KZT 40,000 to KZT 60,000 monthly, ENU lists KZT 220,000 to KZT 400,000 annually, and Karaganda QMU lists KZT 275,000 to KZT 330,000 for ten months. Room type, year, deposit and billing date must accompany each figure.

How much arrival cash should an Indian student carry?

Nazarbayev University recommends USD 400 to USD 500 for the first two months of personal expenses, about INR 38,279 to INR 47,849 at the dated cross-rate. That is an NU setup recommendation, not a national rule. Annual dormitory payment, deposit, visa, insurance and travel can require additional funds.

Does a Kazakhstan government scholarship cover living costs?

The award provides full tuition and a monthly allowance linked to academic progress. It expressly excludes accommodation, travel, visa and medical insurance. The current operator does not publish one 2026 allowance amount for every winner, so the award document and assigned university must supply the cash amount and payment schedule.

Should a refundable hostel deposit count as living expense?

It counts as arrival cash because the amount leaves the student’s account at move-in. It is not final net spending if the university returns it after the contract conditions are met. Record the payment, refund date and possible deductions separately, then avoid multiplying the same deposit across later years.

Which rupee exchange rate should a student use?

The National Bank reference on 20 August 2026 was INR 1 = KZT 4.83, making KZT 100,000 about INR 20,704. Use that dated rate for comparing official figures, then replace it with the bank or remittance provider’s payable quotation. Add transfer charges and refresh the conversion before every payment.

Sources


Ankit Kumar Avatar

More to read

  • ,

    UEL Public Health MSc for India with 2026/27 fees, entry rules, modules, careers and an INR 47.73 lakh full-course budget for September…

    ·

  • ,

    UEL Digital Forensics MSc guide with 2026/27 fees, entry rules, modules, careers and an INR 47.73 lakh full-course budget for 2027 in…

    ·

  • ,

    UEL Engineering Management MSc guide with 2026/27 fees, Indian entry rules, modules, careers and an INR 47.73 lakh full-course budget for 2027…

    ·

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *