,

MBBS in Kazakhstan Fees: Build a Six-Year Budget

Ankit Kumar Avatar

·

14 min read · Published on August 27, 2026 · Updated on August 27, 2026

Official MBBS in Kazakhstan fees published on 20 August 2026 run from KZT 1.55 million a year at Karaganda Medical University to KZT 3 million for first-year English-medium Medicine at Astana Medical University. Six unchanged tuition payments would therefore be about INR 19.25 lakh to INR 37.27 lakh at the official rate of INR 1 = KZT 4.83. The range comes from those named records. The family’s figure comes from the invoice for the exact course and entry year.

A tuition total is not a complete medical degree cost. University housing, food, visa, insurance, flights, document work, payment charges and exchange movement sit outside it. Some records also lack an academic-year label or a clear programme code, which is the identifier for one curriculum. The India-return medical requirements remain a separate condition before price enters the decision.

Which MBBS fees do Kazakhstan medical universities publish for 2026?

Only one available official medical fee record gives a clear 2026-27 price for foreign students in English. Astana Medical University’s 2026-27 price list identifies Medicine, six years, first year and English-medium foreign tuition in the same row. That row lists KZT 3 million.

Other official records are useful but need a limitation beside the number. Karaganda Medical University’s Medicine page states KZT 1.55 million a year and six years, but doesn’t name the academic year. Semey Medical University publishes USD 4,100 a year for international tuition, but the figure is described as approximate and does not sit beside a Medicine programme code or an academic year.

Kazakh National Medical University shows why one confident fee can be misleading. Its 2026-27 and 2027-28 fee order contains KZT 2.4 million under an English-language bachelor or internship label and KZT 3 million under a foreign-citizen bachelor label. The order doesn’t say which label governs an Indian entrant to the current English Medicine programme. A written university quote must resolve that KZT 600,000 difference before either amount becomes a family commitment.

The matrix below shows which fee can be used immediately and which one still needs clarification. It also records where the university publishes no current amount.

How usable is each published medical fee?Green has a dated programme row. Amber needs written clarification. Red has no current official amount.
University and city Official figure and status What the official record establishes What remains unresolved
Astana Medical University, Astana KZT 3,000,000, first year 2026-27 Foreign tuition in English for six-year Medicine Later-year prices and medical-university housing
Karaganda Medical University, Karaganda KZT 1,550,000 a year, date not stated Six-year Medicine and annual tuition The page does not state an academic year
Semey Medical University, Semey USD 4,100 a year, date not stated Approximate international tuition Academic year and exact Medicine programme code
Kazakh National Medical University, Almaty KZT 2,400,000 or KZT 3,000,000, 2026-27 Two category labels in the fee order The category applicable to an Indian English Medicine entrant
South Kazakhstan Medical Academy, Shymkent Not published in a current accessible record The official site confirms medical programmes Current international Medicine tuition
Kazakh-Russian Medical University, Almaty Not published in a current accessible record The official site confirms a six-year international Medicine route Current tuition and its payment schedule

Figures were checked on 20 August 2026. Every amount must be replaced by the university’s current programme-specific invoice for the student’s entry year.

How much can six years of medical tuition cost in KZT and INR?

Six years at unchanged tuition would cost KZT 9.3 million at Karaganda and KZT 18 million at Astana Medical University. Those are arithmetic planning cases, not promises that either university will keep one price for six years. Karaganda’s starting amount also lacks an academic-year label, while Astana’s published row is explicitly a first-year 2026-27 amount.

The official National Bank of Kazakhstan rate on 20 August 2026 was INR 1 = KZT 4.83. That makes KZT 1 about INR 0.207. A bank or remittance provider will add its exchange-rate markup and transfer charge, so the INR column is a common reference rather than a payment quotation.

Six-year tuition base = published annual tuition x 6

A Karaganda example is KZT 1.55 million x 6, which gives KZT 9.3 million or about INR 19.25 lakh. An Astana example is KZT 3 million x 6, which gives KZT 18 million or about INR 37.27 lakh. Neither example includes a hostel bed, meals, insurance, visa, flights, document work or a price rise.

Planning case Starting annual tuition Six unchanged years Approximate tuition in INR Limitation
Karaganda Medicine KZT 1,550,000 KZT 9,300,000 INR 19.25 lakh Annual price has no academic-year label
KazNMU lower published label KZT 2,400,000 KZT 14,400,000 INR 29.81 lakh Applicability to an Indian Medicine entrant is unresolved
Astana Medicine in English KZT 3,000,000 KZT 18,000,000 INR 37.27 lakh Only the first-year 2026-27 amount is published

Converted using INR 1 = KZT 4.83 on 20 August 2026. The table keeps tuition unchanged only to create a comparable base.

Kazakhstan’s national framework describes a six-year integrated medical route, but universities carry different current and older programme tracks. The medical university comparison matches the fee row to the course identifier, teaching language, internship structure and final award.

How much do hostel and living costs add to MBBS fees?

Housing and daily living can add several lakh rupees across six years, but the quality of official evidence differs by city. Karaganda Medical University gives a current residence amount. Semey publishes an approximate annual international-student basket. Astana’s clearest official monthly budget comes from another university in the same city, so it can indicate the city range but cannot be represented as an Astana Medical University quote.

Karaganda Medical University’s 2026-27 first-year notice lists KZT 275,000 for Dormitories No. 3, 4 and 6 and KZT 330,000 for Dormitory No. 1. The amount covers 10 months and includes a refundable deposit equal to one month. The deposit is cash needed at move-in, but it isn’t a final expense when the university returns it.

First-year tuition plus the published residence payment is KZT 1.825 million to KZT 1.88 million, about INR 3.78 lakh to INR 3.89 lakh. Later residence years aren’t multiplied here because the 2026-27 amount may change and the notice does not separate the refundable deposit from the room charge.

For Astana, Nazarbayev University’s official incoming-student guide estimates a broad monthly student total of KZT 84,800 to KZT 216,100. Applied for 72 months alongside Astana Medical University’s unchanged tuition, that produces a rough city planning range of KZT 24.11 million to KZT 33.56 million, about INR 49.91 lakh to INR 69.48 lakh. The living range belongs to Nazarbayev University students, so it is an Astana benchmark rather than an AMU bill.

Semey’s own page makes a different kind of budget possible. Its published approximate yearly basket is USD 4,100 tuition, accommodation from USD 800, medical examination and service up to USD 100, a USD 230 annual multiple-visa allowance and about USD 300 for other costs. Those lines total USD 5,530 a year. Six unchanged baskets are USD 33,180, about KZT 15.34 million or INR 31.75 lakh using USD 1 = KZT 462.22 and USD 1 = INR 95.70 on 20 August 2026.

The Semey basket does not expressly include flights, a separately priced insurance policy, a tuition increase or a private-housing fallback. It also does not identify the academic year or exact Medicine course identifier.

Why can the first-year payment be harder than the six-year total?

The first year can require a larger amount before normal monthly spending begins. Semey Medical University states that enrolment follows the contract and full payment of the first year. Karaganda’s dormitory amount includes a deposit, while visa, travel, document translation and arrival purchases occur before the family has settled into a monthly routine.

The order of enrollment in the number of students is issued by the Rector of the University after successfully passing the entrance exam (interview), concluding an agreement on education and payment for the 1st year with 100% prepayment.
Semey Medical University

This wording turns the first-year fee into a timing condition. A family that can fund six years from future income may still be unable to complete enrolment if the first transfer, foreign-exchange documents or loan disbursement arrives after the university’s deadline.

A cash schedule records the payee, currency, due date, refundable portion and proof received for every charge. It distinguishes a refundable residence deposit from rent and a university invoice from a partner service fee. The university receipt should carry the student’s name or application number.

  1. Application, apostille, translation, medical and admission-document spending before the offer
  2. Tuition deposit or full first-year payment under the university contract
  3. Invitation support, C9 visa fee and travel booking
  4. Dormitory payment and refundable deposit before or at move-in
  5. SIM, local transport, bedding, winter clothing and first-month food after arrival
  6. Emergency reserve until the family’s next planned remittance

How should a family allow for fee and exchange-rate changes?

A six-year budget should show at least one fee-rise case and one weaker-rupee case. Neither is a forecast. They reveal how much reserve is needed if the university resets the tariff or the same KZT payment costs more rupees in a later year.

Rising-fee total = year 1 tuition x (1 + 1.05 + 1.052 + 1.053 + 1.054 + 1.055)

Using KZT 3 million as the first payment, a 5% yearly-rise case totals about KZT 20.41 million across six years rather than KZT 18 million. The difference is KZT 2.41 million, about INR 4.98 lakh at today’s rate. For a KZT 1.55 million start, the same method totals about KZT 10.54 million rather than KZT 9.3 million, a difference of about INR 2.57 lakh.

Starting annual tuition Six years unchanged Six years with 5% yearly rises Added amount in KZT Added amount in INR
KZT 1,550,000 KZT 9,300,000 KZT 10,542,965 KZT 1,242,965 INR 2.57 lakh
KZT 2,400,000 KZT 14,400,000 KZT 16,324,591 KZT 1,924,591 INR 3.98 lakh
KZT 3,000,000 KZT 18,000,000 KZT 20,405,738 KZT 2,405,738 INR 4.98 lakh

The 5% rise is a household stress case, not a statement about any university’s future tariff. The signed contract or later official order controls the real fee.

Currency movement is a separate change. At INR 1 = KZT 4.83, a KZT 3 million transfer is about INR 6.21 lakh before bank charges. If the rupee buys 10% fewer tenge, the same transfer costs roughly INR 6.90 lakh. The conversion is repeated for every later payment.

Which visa, insurance, travel and document costs sit outside tuition?

Visa, insurance, travel and document work should remain separate unless the university contract expressly includes them. The official New Delhi C9 information and Kazakhstan’s national consular tariff list USD 80 for a single-entry C9 and USD 200 for a one-year multiple-entry visa. At the central-bank cross-rate on 20 August 2026, those are about INR 7,656 and INR 19,140 before bank charges.

Semey’s page uses USD 230 as its annual multiple-visa planning amount, which is USD 30 above the statutory USD 200 tariff. The source does not explain the difference. The USD 230 line is therefore a university allowance that may contain a buffer or another service, while USD 200 is the government tariff. An invoice should identify any extra amount rather than relabelling it as a visa fee.

Indian education documents may need apostille, notarised translation and recognition. An apostille authenticates the document for use in another convention country. Recognition is Kazakhstan’s process for accepting a foreign qualification where it applies. The Indian Ministry of External Affairs apostille process covers education documents, while Kazakhstan asks for apostilled or legalised records and Kazakh or Russian translations in its recognition process.

  • Passport issue or renewal and education-document collection
  • Apostille, certified translation, notarisation and recognition where required
  • Medical examination, HIV test, vaccinations and health certificates
  • Visa, invitation-related handling and immigration support charged by the university
  • Medical insurance and any university medical-service fee
  • Flights, baggage, airport transfer and annual travel to India
  • Bank exchange-rate markup, transfer fee and payment-document cost
  • Clinical clothing, instruments, books, repeat assessments and graduation documents where officially charged

Can the Kazakhstan government scholarship pay medical tuition?

Yes, but only if the exact medical programme appears in the live application system and the student wins a place. The 2026 scholarship programme offered 490 bachelor, 50 master and 10 PhD awards, while the Ministry reported 27 universities and 886 programmes. The programme list is displayed during the Study In application process, so a general scholarship announcement does not prove Medicine is available at a chosen university.

The award covers full tuition and a monthly allowance linked to academic progress. It does not cover travel, accommodation, visa or medical insurance. Housing and arrival money remain necessary even when tuition is funded.

Scholarship DOES NOT COVER … travel cost … accommodation expences … visa, medical insurance expences.
Otandastar Qory scholarship programme page

The Kazakhstan government scholarship requirements also include documents, selection and programme availability. Until an award and placement are in writing, the self-funded amount remains the fallback.

How can you separate university fees from an agent package?

A university charge has an official owner, a contract and a traceable payment route. An agent package may combine tuition, invitation handling, flights, food, hostel, insurance or service charges into one INR amount. Each line needs the name of the university, government office, airline, insurer, landlord or agent receiving it.

The National Medical Commission does not certify a foreign-university price list or an approved collection of Kazakhstan institutions. Its guidance asks students to obtain fee, content, duration and internship information directly from the foreign university.

It is informed that National Medical Commission does not endorse any list of Foreign Medical Institutions/ Universities for MBBS or equivalent course.
National Medical Commission

An “NMC-approved package” therefore does not settle academic eligibility or price. The university contract and invoice need the same institution, course, entry year and student name.

Which payment evidence is strong enough?Green identifies the university and student. Amber needs separation. Red leaves the owner unclear.
Payment evidence What it proves Decision
University contract, programme invoice and university beneficiary account The institution owns the stated charge for the named student Use as the fee base
Partner invoice with university and service charges itemised separately The package can be checked line by line Match each university line to official evidence
One INR total sent to a personal or unexplained account No reliable link to the university fee or refund terms Do not treat it as a university charge

What should the final six-year MBBS budget contain?

The final budget should be a dated cash-flow sheet rather than one package total. Each row needs the charge owner, source currency, due date, refund rule, official source, INR planning value and proof received. Annual tuition belongs in separate year columns because later prices and exchange rates can change.

Family cost = tuition + accommodation + living costs + visa and insurance + travel + document costs + payment charges + reserve

A worked Karaganda base begins with KZT 9.3 million of unchanged tuition. First-year residence requires another KZT 275,000 to KZT 330,000 in cash, including a refundable deposit whose amount is not separately published. Later-year housing stays blank until the university issues the next residence price.

A worked Astana base begins with KZT 18 million of unchanged tuition. Adding six years of the official NU city benchmark puts a family’s planning span near INR 50 lakh to INR 69.5 lakh. The range stays wide because housing and food choices differ.

The student cost of living in Kazakhstan provides city-level monthly and arrival budgets. The fee sheet should use the student’s actual dormitory offer when available, then retain a private-housing fallback until the room allocation is confirmed.

  • Six annual tuition rows with the applicable academic year and programme code
  • Dormitory charge, refundable deposit and private-housing fallback
  • Food, mobile data, transport, laundry and personal spending
  • Visa, insurance, medical, apostille, translation and recognition costs
  • Flights, baggage, airport transfer and annual return travel
  • One-time arrival purchases and winter clothing
  • Fee-rise and weaker-rupee planning cases
  • Loan interest or scholarship coverage only where documented
  • Payment owner, deadline, refund rule and receipt for every charge
Key takeaways

  • Usable official annual tuition examples run from KZT 1.55 million to KZT 3 million, but only the Astana figure is clearly labelled 2026-27 and English-medium Medicine.
  • Six unchanged tuition payments calculate to about INR 19.25 lakh to INR 37.27 lakh at INR 1 = KZT 4.83 on 20 August 2026.
  • Karaganda’s 2026-27 first-year dormitory payment is KZT 275,000 to KZT 330,000 and includes a refundable one-month deposit.
  • Semey’s published annual basket is useful for planning but lacks an academic year and exact Medicine programme code.
  • A 5% yearly tuition-rise case adds about INR 2.57 lakh to INR 4.98 lakh across six years in the worked examples.
  • The Kazakhstan scholarship does not promise accommodation, travel, visa or medical insurance.
  • A university contract and invoice must separate official fees from any partner service package.

Frequently asked questions

How much does MBBS in Kazakhstan cost in Indian rupees?

Six unchanged tuition years in the two usable KZT examples are about INR 19.25 lakh at Karaganda and INR 37.27 lakh at Astana Medical University. Housing, food, visa, insurance, flights, documents, fee rises and exchange movement are additional. The exact university invoice determines the real total.

Which Kazakhstan medical university has the lowest official fee?

Karaganda Medical University publishes KZT 1.55 million a year, the lowest among the usable official examples reviewed here. It is not a national lowest-price claim because some universities publish no current fee and Karaganda’s page does not state the academic year. Programme evidence still needs separate review.

Are hostel fees included in MBBS tuition in Kazakhstan?

No, the reviewed universities publish hostel costs separately. Karaganda Medical University lists KZT 275,000 to KZT 330,000 for 2026-27, while Semey lists accommodation from USD 800 apart from tuition. A room allocation, payment period, deposit and private-housing fallback belong in the family budget.

Can medical tuition increase during the six-year course?

It can change unless the signed university contract fixes the entry year’s price. A 5% yearly planning case takes KZT 3 million annual tuition to about KZT 20.41 million across six payments, rather than KZT 18 million unchanged. This is a planning allowance, not a university fee forecast.

Does the Kazakhstan government scholarship cover MBBS fees?

The award covers full tuition only when the exact medical programme is available in the live scholarship portal and the student wins that placement. The scheme also pays a monthly allowance linked to progress, but excludes accommodation, travel, visa and medical insurance. Medicine availability must be checked in the application cycle.

Should an Indian student pay an MBBS agent package?

Only after university, government and agent charges are itemised. Tuition should match the university contract and move to the institution’s documented account with the student’s identity. Flights, insurance, food and service charges need their own owners and refund terms. One unexplained INR total isn’t a university fee.

Which exchange rate should a family use for Kazakhstan fees?

The 20 August 2026 National Bank reference was INR 1 = KZT 4.83, or KZT 1 at about INR 0.207. Use a dated official rate for comparison, then add the bank’s spread and transfer charge. Later tuition payments need fresh conversions because the rupee cost can change each year.

Sources


Ankit Kumar Avatar

More to read

  • ,

    UEL Public Health MSc for India with 2026/27 fees, entry rules, modules, careers and an INR 47.73 lakh full-course budget for September…

    ·

  • ,

    UEL Digital Forensics MSc guide with 2026/27 fees, entry rules, modules, careers and an INR 47.73 lakh full-course budget for 2027 in…

    ·

  • ,

    UEL Engineering Management MSc guide with 2026/27 fees, Indian entry rules, modules, careers and an INR 47.73 lakh full-course budget for 2027…

    ·

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *