,

Cost of Living in Georgia: A Student Budget in Rupees

Edwin Selvaraj Avatar

·

20 min read · Published on August 14, 2026 · Updated on August 14, 2026

Georgia here means the country, not the US state, and one verified non-medical annual tuition example is USD 4,000. The useful cost question is not which university displays the lowest fee. It is whether the published fee period, actual course duration, housing route, immigration payments and unresolved extras support one complete family budget.

Tuition is commonly published in US dollars, while rent, daily spending and Georgian government services use Georgian lari, or GEL. Every INR conversion below uses the dated reference rates stated in the first section. The figures are planning illustrations, not bank quotations or promises for a 2027 or 2028 intake.

How much does it cost to study and live in Georgia for one year?

There isn’t one honest national price. The first year combines a named programme fee, twelve months of living costs and separate immigration charges. Using current official inputs, a TSU Computer Science example comes to about INR 11.42 lakh to INR 15.36 lakh. A Tbilisi Medical Academy example comes to about INR 11.97 lakh to INR 18.76 lakh.

Those figures use the National Bank of Georgia rates for 14 August 2026. On that date, USD 1 was approximately INR 95.44 and GEL 1 was approximately INR 36.47. The bank’s exchange-rate methodology describes an official reference rate, not the retail rate an Indian bank or transfer service must offer.

One-year cost = verified tuition + 12 months of living + visa + VFS charges + residence permit + residence card + insurance + verified upfront charges

The formula only works when the fee frequency is explicit. A university page that lists USD 6,500 without saying annual, per semester or total does not support multiplication across a degree. That rule matters more than whether the number looks low.

What tuition do Georgian universities charge international students?

Current published tuition varies by programme, and only five medical examples in this evidence set pair an explicitly annual fee with an exact six-year duration. The programme name, fee frequency, cohort and duration must be read together before any total is calculated.

The table uses official pages for TSU Computer Science, the University of Georgia fee list, TSMU international fees and each medical programme’s own duration record. Totals assume the published annual fee does not change.

Institution and programme Published fee Fee frequency Duration evidence Tuition total if unchanged Approximate total (INR)
TSU Computer Science bachelor in English USD 4,000 Annual 4 years, 8 semesters, 240 ECTS USD 16,000 INR 15.27 lakh
University of Georgia BBA, four-year route USD 4,000 Not stated 4-year label Not calculated Not calculated
University of Georgia MBA in English USD 4,000 Not stated Not stated on fee page Not calculated Not calculated
Batumi Shota Rustaveli State University MD USD 5,000 Annual for 2025 to 2026 entrants 12 semesters, 360 credits USD 30,000 INR 28.63 lakh
European University MD USD 6,500 Annual 6 years, 360 credits USD 39,000 INR 37.22 lakh
University of Georgia MD USD 6,500 Not stated 6 years, 360 ECTS Not calculated Not calculated
New Vision University MD USD 7,000 Annual for international students 6 years, 360 ECTS USD 42,000 INR 40.08 lakh
Tbilisi Medical Academy MD USD 7,000 Annual 360 ECTS across 6 years USD 42,000 INR 40.08 lakh
Tbilisi State Medical University MD in English USD 8,000 Annual 6 academic years, 12 semesters, 360 ECTS USD 48,000 INR 45.81 lakh

Programme fees checked on 14 August 2026. INR conversions use USD 1 = INR 95.44.

The medical pairings come from the BSU fee page and BSU curriculum, European University’s combined fee and programme page, the University of Georgia’s six-year MD record, New Vision University’s programme catalogue, TMA’s international admission costs and six-year MD page, and the TSMU English MD document.

Two universities can display the same USD 6,500 and still produce different evidence. European University labels that amount per year on the same page that states six years. The University of Georgia lists USD 6,500 on one page and six years on another, but never supplies the missing fee period. The first pairing supports USD 39,000. The second supports no duration total.

Duration of studying: 6 years. Language of instruction: English. Program value: 360 credits. Tuition Fee: 6500 USD per year.European University

BSU’s USD 5,000 is limited to students enrolled in 2025 to 2026. European University’s page was updated on 26 March 2026. None of these current figures guarantees the price for a later intake. For a wider institution decision, compare the medical universities in Georgia through programme evidence rather than price alone.

How much does a student spend each month in Tbilisi?

A defensible Tbilisi range is GEL 1,700 to GEL 2,600 a month in the University of Georgia model, or approximately INR 62,000 to INR 94,800. Housing moves the figure most because the university publishes no university-owned accommodation for that audience.

The University of Georgia guide lists GEL 900 to GEL 1,100 a month excluding rent and GEL 800 to GEL 1,500 for housing. TMA publishes its own dollar model, while the TSU 2025 to 2026 exchange sheet provides a dated cross-check in euros. These are named planning sources, not a Georgia-wide student average.

Source and scope Housing per month Other living per month Combined monthly amount Twelve-month amount Main limitation
University of Georgia, incoming exchange guide GEL 800 to 1,500 GEL 900 to 1,100 GEL 1,700 to 2,600 GEL 20,400 to 31,200, about INR 7.44 lakh to INR 11.38 lakh Open-market guide, not a room quotation
Tbilisi Medical Academy, international medical student USD 250 to 550 USD 165 to 440 USD 415 to 990 USD 4,980 to 11,880, about INR 4.75 lakh to INR 11.34 lakh Insurance of USD 7 to 25 monthly is separate
TSU, 2025 to 2026 exchange benchmark Up to EUR 200 shared or EUR 400 private About EUR 300, plus materials Not published as one total Not calculated Exchange context and dated academic year

The two published living models also describe different choices. The UG range combines open-market housing with general spending in GEL. The TMA range separates accommodation, food, transport and personal expenses in USD, then leaves insurance outside. A family should choose one complete model for a scenario rather than taking the cheapest housing from one source and the cheapest daily spending from another.

TMA says it doesn’t operate dormitories. The University of Georgia also says it doesn’t provide its own housing. A hostel price from another institution therefore cannot replace a private-rent plan. Over 72 months, the UG living range becomes approximately INR 44.64 lakh to INR 68.27 lakh, even before tuition.

How should an Indian family calculate the first-year Georgia budget?

Build the first year in the currencies actually paid, then convert once for family planning. This keeps USD tuition, GEL government charges and INR VFS charges visible and prevents a transfer spread from disappearing inside one total.

First-year example USD payments GEL payments INR payments Approximate subtotal (INR) Excluded
TSU Computer Science with UG living model USD 4,000 tuition and USD 20 regular visa GEL 20,400 to 31,200 living, GEL 300 permit, GEL 50 discounted card INR 1,500 VFS service fee INR 11.42 lakh to INR 15.36 lakh Flights, insurance, bank spread, deposit, books and satellite courier
TMA medicine with TMA living model USD 7,000 tuition, USD 4,980 to 11,880 living, USD 84 to 300 insurance, USD 300 registration and USD 20 visa GEL 300 permit plus a discounted residence card at GEL 50 VFS service fee of INR 1,500 and NEET validation of INR 538 INR 11.97 lakh to INR 18.76 lakh Flights, bank spread, deposit, books, satellite courier and unclear reservation treatment

Two first-year examples using the 14 August 2026 NBG rates. Both assume application through VFS New Delhi.

Both rows use the cheapest published permit decision and the slowest residence-card service after the eligible student discount. They also assume VFS New Delhi, where the satellite-centre courier charge does not apply. A different submission city, faster government service or a housing deposit changes cash due before it changes the underlying annual tuition.

TMA also publishes a USD 2,100 seat-reservation amount. Its page does not state whether that amount is credited against tuition, so it remains outside the subtotal until the university gives written treatment. This is a better result than either double-counting or silently ignoring it.

Indian tax collection at source, or TCS, affects payment-day cash but isn’t a Georgian university charge. From 1 April 2026, section 394 of India’s Income-tax Act, 2025 sets 2 per cent on education remittances above INR 10 lakh under LRS. A remittance from a qualifying education loan from a specified financial institution is exempt. The official Budget 2026 FAQ confirms the rate, threshold and effective date. The examples below are standalone hypothetical LRS-counted education remittances, not the mixed-currency first-year subtotals above.

Education remittance (INR) Amount above INR 10 lakh TCS rate Additional payment-day cash
INR 12 lakh INR 2 lakh 2 per cent INR 4,000
INR 20 lakh INR 10 lakh 2 per cent INR 20,000

The bank still decides how each payment is classified under LRS. The hypothetical rows do not treat domestic VFS charges or other India-paid costs as LRS remittances. Keep TCS outside the study-cost subtotal and inside the cash-needed-on-payment-day column. This page makes no tax-credit or refund claim.

What is the realistic six-year cost of medicine in Georgia?

Current official arithmetic puts tuition alone at about INR 28.63 lakh to INR 45.81 lakh across the five medical programmes with proven annual frequency and six-year duration. Adding 72 months from TMA’s published living range creates the two dated planning models below.

The two models below deliberately keep their sources visible. One combines European University tuition with TMA’s published living range. The second uses TMA for both tuition and living. Neither is a university quotation, and neither predicts future fee or rent increases.

Model Tuition over 6 years (USD) Living over 72 months (USD) Combined amount (USD) Approximate total (INR) What remains outside
European University tuition with TMA living range 39,000 29,880 to 71,280 68,880 to 110,280 INR 65.74 lakh to INR 1.05 crore Registration, insurance, permit renewals, travel, deposits, equipment, retakes and unpriced post-course costs
TMA tuition with TMA living range 42,000 29,880 to 71,280 71,880 to 113,280 INR 68.60 lakh to INR 1.08 crore Reservation treatment, registration, insurance, renewed immigration documents, travel, deposits, equipment, retakes and unpriced post-course costs

Six-year medicine planning models using USD 1 = INR 95.44 on 14 August 2026.

Each low and high value holds tuition constant. The spread comes from TMA’s monthly living range of USD 415 to USD 990 before separate insurance. Changes in rent, time abroad or course length will alter the result.

No University of Georgia six-year total appears here. Its MD page establishes six years and 360 ECTS, but the fee list does not label USD 6,500 as annual, per semester or total. A duration total would turn an unresolved fee frequency into a false fact.

Academic and professional-route questions sit outside this calculation and are covered in the MBBS in Georgia guide.

What do the D3 visa, study permit and residence card cost?

They are separate payments. An Indian applicant pays a D3 visa tier and VFS charges before travel, then pays for a study residence-permit decision and a residence card in Georgia. One payment does not cover all four outputs.

The 7 May 2026 fee ordinance sets USD 20 for the 30th calendar day, USD 100 for the 15th working day and USD 200 for the 10th working day. The expedited tiers took effect on 1 July 2026. The India-facing D3 notice expresses those tiers as INR 1,790, INR 8,950 and INR 17,900, but calls the regular tier a minimum of 30 working days. The calendar-day and working-day wordings should not be merged.

Charge Amount Published service time Who pays Frequency or limitation
D3 regular visa tier USD 20 or INR 1,790 Ordinance says 30th calendar day. VFS notice says minimum 30 working days. D3 applicant Per application
D3 priority tier USD 100 or INR 8,950 15 working days Applicant selecting priority Charged per application. Recheck availability.
D3 urgent priority tier USD 200 or INR 17,900 10 working days Applicant selecting urgent priority Application-specific charge. Confirm availability again.
VFS India service fee INR 1,500, including GST and INR 150 convenience fee Not a decision tier Every India applicant Per application
VFS satellite-centre courier INR 846 Not a decision tier Satellite-centre applicant Mandatory except at VFS New Delhi
VFS NEET validation INR 538 Not a decision tier Indian medical-student applicant Applicant-specific
Study residence permit GEL 300, 450 or 600 30, 20 or 10 calendar days Student after arrival Per decision
Temporary residence card GEL 60, 80, 100, 120 or 150 before eligible discount 10, 5, 3 or 2 working days, or same day Permit holder Separate from permit. Eligible students receive GEL 10 discount.

Decision speed and application cost answer different questions. Paying USD 200 buys the published urgent decision tier, not approval and not a guaranteed travel date. The VFS service fee applies separately, while courier and NEET validation depend on the centre and applicant. After arrival, the permit and card create two more payments in GEL.

The live VFS India page still gives a minimum two-month statement for long-term visas, so paying a faster tier cannot be presented as a passport-return guarantee. Applicants in India use the Embassy of Georgia consular route.

The State Services Development Agency study-permit page publishes GEL 300, GEL 450 and GEL 600 decision tiers. The student must apply before lawful stay becomes too short.

An alien shall apply to the Agency for a Georgian residence permit 40 calendar days before his/her lawful stay in the territory of Georgia expires.State Services Development Agency

The current Legal Status Law, publication 20 says relevant temporary permits are initially issued for six months to one year. One GEL 300 decision therefore cannot be treated as a six-year purchase. The residence-card page confirms that the card is separately priced. The Georgia student visa and residence guide covers the complete process and timing.

How much money must a student show for the residence permit?

The legal account floor changes with the requested permit period and Georgia’s average-consumer subsistence minimum. It is an eligibility calculation, not evidence that the student can actually pay rent and live in Tbilisi.

Money deposited to an alien’s personal bank account may also be considered as income; taking into account the validity term of study residence permit.State Services Development Agency

The same agency page requires the monthly amount to be at least twice the average-consumer subsistence minimum. The Geostat dataset points to the changing official series. Its workbook available on 14 August 2026 gives GEL 250.9467 for the average consumer in December 2025, the latest workbook observation then available.

Residence funds floor = 2 x current average-consumer subsistence minimum x requested permit months

Requested permit period Calculation Minimum account amount (GEL) Approximate amount (INR) What it proves
6 months 2 x GEL 250.9467 x 6 GEL 3,011.36 INR 1.10 lakh Dated legal-income illustration only
12 months 2 x GEL 250.9467 x 12 GEL 6,022.72 INR 2.20 lakh Dated legal-income illustration only

Dated illustrations using GEL 250.9467 for December 2025 and GEL 1 = INR 36.47 on 14 August 2026.

Two inputs can change this result. Geostat can publish a new average-consumer value, and the requested permit period can be shorter than twelve months. The bank evidence should therefore show the calculation date and the exact number of permit months. Reusing an old rupee amount loses both pieces of evidence.

Compare INR 2.20 lakh for the dated twelve-month legal illustration with INR 7.44 lakh to INR 11.38 lakh in the UG annual living model. Passing the funds formula doesn’t prove affordability. Replace the December 2025 input with the latest official observation immediately before filing.

Can an Indian student get a scholarship in Georgia?

Possibly, but no broad automatic award supports a direct-admission budget. Plan the full fee unless the student holds a written award that names the amount, intake, duration and renewal conditions.

Georgia’s Higher Education Law limits grants for aliens to a route within 2 per cent of the annual state educational-grant allocation under a Ministry programme. That is not a general promise to every foreign entrant. Caucasus University’s published awards include routes tied to Georgia’s Unified National Examinations, which do not automatically map to an Indian direct-admission applicant.

Scholarship status Amount subtracted from budget Evidence required
No written award Zero Budget the current official tuition in full
Competitive application pending Zero Scheme rules and application status are not an award
Written renewable award Only the confirmed amount Award letter, duration, academic conditions and renewal terms

A written renewable award changes the budget only for the period it covers. A one-year discount cannot be multiplied across a four-year or six-year programme unless its renewal rule supports that treatment. The award letter should also state whether the reduction applies to tuition alone or to another charge, because accommodation and immigration normally remain separate.

A fee page can show grant columns without proving eligibility. The CU undergraduate fee page also warns that excess recognised credits may create another charge. The sensible scholarship question is not whether an award exists. It is whether this applicant, admission route and intake are covered in writing.

Which hidden costs should the family add before paying?

Add every compulsory item whose amount is known and keep every unresolved item visible. A blank is not zero. It is a quotation the family still needs before paying.

Cost item Published amount Frequency Included in worked totals What remains to establish
TMA registration USD 300 One time Included in first-year TMA example Nothing beyond a freshness check
TMA seat reservation USD 2,100 Before enrolment Excluded Whether it is credited against tuition
TMA local insurance USD 7 to 25 monthly Each required month Included in first-year TMA example Exact policy and required months
TSU learning materials Up to EUR 100 per semester Semester Excluded Whether the chosen degree has the same need
TSMU preparatory course USD 2,000 a year Only if required Excluded Whether the student must take it
Translation, notarisation, apostille and legalisation Not verified as one current total Document-specific Excluded Exact document list and provider quote
Flights, baggage and airport transfer Not priced in this dossier Each journey Excluded Travel dates and baggage plan
Rental deposit, agent fee, utilities and setup Not priced in this dossier Move-in and monthly Excluded Signed housing quote
Repeat subjects, retakes and course extension Not priced for most universities If triggered Excluded Programme rules and price per repeat
Post-course costs for medicine Not priced here After graduation Excluded A separate current cost plan

The unresolved reservation, housing and repeat-course rows can each move the budget in a different way. The reservation affects cash before enrolment, housing affects every month and a repeat subject can extend both tuition and living. Keeping those rows visible makes the subtotal useful because the reader can see exactly what it does not settle.

Do not invent a universal contingency percentage and call it official. A family can choose a higher planning case, but that buffer remains the family’s decision. Every excluded item belongs beside the total so the subtotal cannot masquerade as all-in.

How can a family keep the Georgia budget accurate?

Rebuild the budget whenever the offer, housing plan, exchange rate or permit validity changes. A saved spreadsheet is useful only when every assumption has a source date and a named owner.

The control sheet needs one row per assumption, with the original source, last checked date, current amount, fee period and effect on annual cash. That structure separates a real change from a stale link. It also shows which update requires a new family decision and which one only changes the timing of a payment.

  1. Confirm fee frequency. Record annual, semester or total beside the amount. Calculate no duration total from an unlabeled fee.
  2. Match the cohort. A 2025 to 2026 price is not a 2027 to 2028 offer, even when the web page was updated later.
  3. Keep currencies separate. Hold USD tuition, GEL living and government charges, and INR VFS or Indian cash-flow items in their own columns.
  4. Use the real housing route. Replace a general university range with a signed dormitory or rental quote when one exists.
  5. Model the actual duration. Count the months abroad, likely holidays in India and a higher case for delay or extension.
  6. Refresh immigration validity. One permit decision may cover six months to one year, not the whole degree.
  7. Reprice annually. Save the new fee page, current NBG rate, housing evidence, insurance amount and permit schedule before the next transfer.

The study in Georgia overview connects cost with the wider country decision. Non-medical applicants can compare the universities in Georgia, while a business applicant can examine the distinct MBA in Georgia options. Each programme page owns admission and selection. This page owns the arithmetic.

Key takeaways

  • Ask the university for the offer’s fee period and payment calendar in writing.
  • Obtain one housing quotation that states the deposit, utilities and contract dates.
  • Ask the remitting bank for the INR debit and LRS classification on the planned payment date.

Frequently asked questions

What is the cost of living in Georgia per month for an Indian student?

The University of Georgia’s Tbilisi guide produces GEL 1,700 to GEL 2,600 a month after combining housing with transport, food and recreation. At the 14 August 2026 rate, that is approximately INR 62,000 to INR 94,800. It is an open-market planning range, not a national average or room quotation.

How much does one year of study in Georgia cost in rupees?

There is no national one-year amount. Add the exact programme fee, one complete twelve-month living model, immigration charges, insurance and verified upfront items, then convert the payment currencies using a dated rate. Keep flights, transfer spread, deposits, books and unresolved document costs visible.

What is the total six-year cost of medicine in Georgia?

Use the two named models above as dated illustrations, not as a national price. Each subtotal retains a visible list of costs that still need a current quote.

Is INR 40 lakh enough for medicine in Georgia?

Compare that amount with the selected model’s dated subtotal and listed exclusions. One round figure cannot settle affordability for every programme and housing plan.

Do Georgian universities provide hostel accommodation?

Do not assume so. Tbilisi Medical Academy and the University of Georgia publish that they do not provide their own housing in the reviewed sources. Another institution’s dormitory price cannot be applied to your offer. Obtain the exact housing provider, room type, deposit, included utilities and contract period in writing.

Are scholarships available to Indian students in Georgia?

Some awards may be available, but no broad automatic scholarship supports a direct-admission budget. Georgia’s state-grant law limits the foreign-citizen route, while visible university awards can depend on domestic examinations. Budget full tuition until a written award confirms nationality eligibility, amount, duration and renewal conditions.

How much bank balance is needed for a study residence permit?

The formula is twice the latest average-consumer subsistence minimum for every requested permit month. Using the December 2025 value only as a dated illustration gives GEL 3,011.36 for six months and GEL 6,022.72 for twelve months. Refresh the Geostat input before filing because it can change.

Can part-time work safely pay tuition in Georgia?

No compulsory cost should depend on uncertain earnings. This cost page publishes no universal hours or wage figure because none was verified in its source set. Check the current right-to-work framework through the student-visa sibling, then treat any lawful earnings as optional support rather than the source of tuition or rent.

Sources


Edwin Selvaraj Avatar

More to read

  • ,

    UEL Public Health MSc for India with 2026/27 fees, entry rules, modules, careers and an INR 47.73 lakh full-course budget for September…

    ·

  • ,

    UEL Digital Forensics MSc guide with 2026/27 fees, entry rules, modules, careers and an INR 47.73 lakh full-course budget for 2027 in…

    ·

  • ,

    UEL Engineering Management MSc guide with 2026/27 fees, Indian entry rules, modules, careers and an INR 47.73 lakh full-course budget for 2027…

    ·

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *