,

Swedish Institute Scholarship: Whether India Is on the List

Edwin Selvaraj Avatar

·

14 min read · Published on August 5, 2026 · Updated on August 6, 2026

The 2026/27 SI Scholarship for Global Professionals lists 34 eligible countries and the Pioneering Women in STEM call lists 10, but neither list includes India, so an applicant whose only citizenship is Indian is ineligible for both Swedish Institute awards.

University funding follows different rules. The KTH India Scholarship offered 1 award in 2026 with tuition and a living allowance for 10 academic months, while 7 other university awards documented here require that institution’s programme to be ranked first or given first priority in the central application.

Can Indian students get the SI Scholarship?

No, not when Indian is your only citizenship for the 2026/27 intake. The SI Global Professionals eligibility rules name 34 countries, and India is not one of them. Bangladesh, Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines and Thailand are included, so a broad claim that the award is open to Asian applicants is not enough to establish Indian eligibility.

“You must be a citizen of one of the 34 eligible countries to be eligible to apply.”

Swedish Institute

The Pioneering Women in STEM call is narrower, with ten named countries in 2026/27. If you hold another citizenship that appears on an SI list, apply SI’s current dual-citizenship rule and then check the programme, tuition-fee, experience and leadership conditions. The 2026/27 Global Professionals call offered full tuition, SEK 12,000 a month and a one-time SEK 15,000 travel grant.

Which Sweden scholarships can an Indian student apply for?

The strongest current India-specific route is at KTH, but it is exceptionally scarce. The KTH India Scholarship offered one award in 2026. First-year tuition is covered, and second-year tuition continues if the first-year study results are satisfactory. The award also includes a monthly living allowance for ten academic months, though KTH does not state the amount.

Award Tuition coverage Living allowance Application or ranking condition
KTH India Scholarship First-year tuition; second year continues with satisfactory results Monthly allowance for ten academic months, amount unstated Apply to a KTH master’s first
KTH Scholarship Tuition for a one or two-year master’s No Programme application first, separate KTH scholarship process
Lund University Global Scholarship Part or all tuition No Lund programme as first choice, then separate application
Uppsala University Global Scholarship Full tuition No Uppsala as first priority, separate application window
Stockholm University Scholarship Full tuition No International round and first-choice condition
Linköping International Scholarship Normally 50% tuition reduction No Linköping as first priority, satisfactory progress for continuation
Umeå University Scholarship Full or partial tuition No published allowance Umeå as first priority, merit selection
Malmö University Master’s Scholarship Part or all tuition No International round, Malmö first choice, progress condition
Örebro University Scholarship Full tuition No Örebro first priority, admitted rather than wait-listed
Chalmers scholarships Varies by named fee scholarship Verify the scheme Programme application first, then scholarship application

The comparison reveals two separate scarcity problems. KTH India was limited to one award, while most other university scholarships offer no living allowance at all. A candidate can therefore be academically eligible and still face either a very low chance of funding or a complete maintenance gap. Tuition percentage alone does not measure the value of an award unless its duration, renewal condition and uncovered living costs are also known.

The general KTH scholarship information separates tuition awards from living costs. Lund also says its Global Scholarship does not cover living expenses. Calling either option fully funded would hide the living budget you still have to pay.

The table belongs alongside the Sweden university comparison, so subject, programme language and tuition are established before funding affects the ranking.

Why can programme ranking cancel a scholarship plan?

Because a master’s application has only one first choice, you cannot satisfy the first-priority condition of several university scholarships at the same time. Lund, Uppsala, Stockholm, Linköping, Umeå, Malmö and Örebro each publish a first-choice or first-priority condition for the awards compared here.

You rank up to four master’s programmes inside UniversityAdmissions.se. The rank belongs to the programme application, not to a separate scholarship form. Admission is considered in that order, and an offer for a higher-ranked programme removes the lower choices. A university scholarship that says its programme must be first therefore works only when that programme is number 1 in the central application.

How one programme order affects four scholarshipsOnly the programme at rank 1 meets a first-choice scholarship condition.
Rank Programme in UniversityAdmissions.se What the admission order means First-choice scholarship result
1 Lund programme Lund is considered before the three lower choices The Lund first-choice condition is met
2 Uppsala programme Uppsala is considered only if the Lund choice does not produce an offer The Uppsala first-priority condition is not met
3 Linköping programme Linköping remains a lower academic choice until a higher offer removes it The Linköping first-priority condition is not met
4 Malmö programme Malmö is considered after the three programmes above it The Malmö first-choice condition is not met

The lower-ranked choices still retain academic value, but they no longer satisfy the first-priority scholarship condition shown here. This is an irreversible tradeoff within that submitted order: increasing one university’s funding eligibility can reduce another’s, even though both programmes remain suitable.

This example doesn’t mean Lund should always be first. Put first the programme you would genuinely accept, after checking that its scholarship is open to you and that you can finance any amount the award does not cover. The Sweden admission ranking rules determine how a higher offer removes lower choices and when you can still change the order.

One funding line beside every programme exposes the effect before the order is submitted. The line can read “institution award eligible,” “academic backup without institution award,” or “self-funded.” If all four lines say “first-choice scholarship,” the list contradicts itself.

When do Sweden scholarship applications happen?

The 2026/27 SI cycle shows the order clearly, though its dates must not be copied forward as a 2027 calendar.

  1. 16 October 2025 to 15 January 2026. Applicants submitted eligible Swedish master’s applications through University Admissions.
  2. 9 to 25 February 2026. Eligible applicants submitted the separate SI scholarship form.
  3. 26 March 2026. University admission results were published.
  4. 23 April 2026. SI published its scholarship results.
  5. After the award decision. The student checked whether the remaining tuition invoice and permit budget were affordable.

KTH India accepted applications from 1 December 2025 to 15 January 2026, after the KTH master’s application had been started. Linköping’s 2026 scholarship window came after admission, from 26 to 30 March. In both routes, the programme application came first. Get the application number, then complete the institution’s own scholarship process.

For a future intake, the dates explain only the order of work. Leave, references and payment deadlines cannot be planned around a date until the university publishes that cycle. The master’s application self-check helps establish eligibility before time is spent on a motivation statement.

What costs remain after a Sweden scholarship?

For a 2026 application, the Migration Agency requires SEK 10,656 per month. Twelve months gives SEK 127,872. Most Swedish university awards do not provide that maintenance money.

Scholarship result Tuition left Living money to plan Remaining problem to solve
No scholarship Full programme invoice Full maintenance plus arrival buffer Tuition instalment and permit funds both have to work
50% tuition scholarship Half the tuition Full maintenance plus arrival buffer The remaining invoice can still block final admission
Full tuition scholarship Zero if every fee is covered Full maintenance plus arrival buffer A tuition-only letter doesn’t prove living funds
KTH India Scholarship First year covered; second year continues after satisfactory results Subtract only the allowance amount confirmed in the award letter The published page does not state that allowance amount
SI award for an eligible nationality Covered SEK 12,000 monthly benefit in the 2026/27 call Programme, citizenship, experience and leadership rules still control eligibility

The middle rows explain why “full scholarship” is an incomplete budget description. A 50% award halves tuition but leaves the permit maintenance amount unchanged. A full tuition award removes the invoice only when every fee is covered, while rent, deposits and arrival costs remain. KTH India is different because it includes an allowance, yet the unstated amount prevents a complete calculation until the award letter arrives.

The first-year Sweden budget replaces the national average with the programme fee. Housing, exchange-rate movement and deposit money remain visible, and a living allowance enters the calculation only when the award letter states it.

A scholarship document used for the permit should state the provider, recipient, study period, amount, payment schedule and how much is intended for living expenses. The Migration Agency also allows qualifying scholarships to form part of a combined maintenance case. The permit funds checklist covers the documentary detail.

How should you build a scholarship shortlist?

The shortlist begins with citizenship, followed by programme fit, ranking conditions, uncovered costs and application dates. A self-funded decision date for every option prevents an unanswered scholarship application from carrying the candidate past the university’s payment deadline.

  1. Save the eligibility evidence. Keep the citizenship list and programme rules used for every eligible or ineligible decision.
  2. Confirm programme eligibility. Check the named master’s, fee status, degree requirements and subject credits.
  3. Pick one first-priority award. Decide which institution scholarship deserves the top programme rank.
  4. Record the coverage. Write the tuition percentage, years covered, living allowance and renewal condition in separate columns.
  5. Calculate the shortfall. Add uncovered tuition, SEK 10,656 per permit month and arrival costs.
  6. Prepare separate applications. Track each scholarship form, motivation limit, reference and time zone independently.
  7. Set a self-funded decision date. Decide when you will decline if the award does not arrive and the remaining cost is unaffordable.

This leaves you with fewer programmes, but you know which ones fit academically and what each would cost without an award. If the remaining cost is unaffordable, set a date to decline rather than waiting past the university’s payment deadline.

Key takeaways

  • An applicant whose only citizenship is Indian fails the SI citizenship rule for 2026/27, so the programme, experience and leadership checks do not make that applicant eligible.
  • KTH India offered one India-specific scholarship in 2026, and KTH does not publish the living-allowance amount.
  • Separate tuition coverage from maintenance, travel and renewal conditions in every comparison.
  • Scholarship conditions can change the best order for your four programme choices.
  • Future applicants must wait for the published cycle rather than recycling 2026 dates as 2027 deadlines.
  • Apply wherever you are eligible, but make the enrolment decision using the amount you can finance without an unconfirmed award.

Frequently asked questions

Is the Swedish Institute Scholarship open to Indian students?

Not to someone whose only citizenship is Indian in 2026/27. India is absent from the 34-country Global Professionals list and the 10-country Pioneering Women in STEM list. A dual citizen should test the other citizenship against SI’s current rules rather than assuming that either passport settles eligibility.

What does the KTH India Scholarship cover?

It covers first-year tuition, while second-year tuition continues if the first-year results are satisfactory. A monthly allowance is included for ten academic months, but KTH did not publish the amount. The foundation offered one scholarship in 2026, so applicants should also prepare a self-funded plan.

Can I apply for scholarships at four Swedish universities?

You can submit separate applications where eligible, but several awards require that university to be your first programme priority. Only one institution can occupy that position. Lower-ranked programmes can remain academic backups while their first-priority scholarships are unavailable to you.

Are Sweden university scholarships fully funded?

Most current university awards are not fully funded. Lund, Uppsala, Stockholm, Linköping, Malmö and Örebro schemes cover part or all tuition but not ordinary living costs. Check the tuition coverage, monthly allowance, travel support and renewal conditions as four separate fields in the award terms.

How much money is still needed after a full tuition scholarship?

For a 2026 permit application, plan SEK 10,656 for each permit month unless the award letter itself provides acceptable living support. Twelve months equals SEK 127,872, before any arrival buffer. A spouse adds SEK 4,440 a month and each child adds SEK 2,664.

When should I apply for a Sweden scholarship?

Usually after starting or completing the programme application. The 2026 SI and KTH India routes both depended on a master’s application first, while some university windows opened after admission. Use those only as sequence examples and wait for the institution to publish your intake’s actual dates.

Does admission guarantee a Sweden scholarship?

No. Admission and scholarship selection are separate decisions. Several Swedish university schemes publish only a small number of awards. A strong admission result can make you eligible for consideration without making the funding probable or guaranteed. Build your budget as if you will not receive it.

Sources


Edwin Selvaraj Avatar

More to read

  • ,

    UEL Public Health MSc for India with 2026/27 fees, entry rules, modules, careers and an INR 47.73 lakh full-course budget for September…

    ·

  • ,

    UEL Digital Forensics MSc guide with 2026/27 fees, entry rules, modules, careers and an INR 47.73 lakh full-course budget for 2027 in…

    ·

  • ,

    UEL Engineering Management MSc guide with 2026/27 fees, Indian entry rules, modules, careers and an INR 47.73 lakh full-course budget for 2027…

    ·

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *