WGTN Master of Data Science
Te Herenga Waka: Victoria University of Wellington · School of Mathematics and Statistics · Wellington, New Zealand- NZQCF Level 9
- Full-time at Kelburn
- 240 or 180 points
Two 120-point fee units, compulsory charges, Wellington living plan and visa fee.
2026 approximate per 120 points
apply by 7 December 2026
about two years
eligible prior majors only
no band below 6.0
apply two trimesters ahead
What is the WGTN Master of Data Science?
The Master of Data Science is a 240-point, NZQCF Level 9 programme combining coursework, a five-week practicum and a research project. The standard-route planning total is therefore an explicitly calculated NZD 148,117.60, about INR 82.98 lakh. For the Master of Data Science, the published route determines the fee basis and application plan.
Most entrants complete Part 1 and Part 2 over about two years. A graduate with a Data Science major, or a double major in Statistics and either Artificial Intelligence or Computer Science, may enter the 180-point Part 2 and finish in about 12 months. The route decision changes both the cost and timetable and must be confirmed in writing. The University’s official Master of Data Science page provides the structure and dates used here. NZQA classifies master’s degrees at Level 9.
How much does the WGTN Master of Data Science cost?
For the standard 240-point route, plan NZD 148,117.60, or about INR 82.98 lakh. This calculation uses two 120-point units at the University's 2026 catalogue estimate, two years of current compulsory levies and preferred insurance, two lower 52-week Wellington living estimates and the current student visa charge.
| Item | INR | Local currency | When it is due |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calculated tuition for 240 points | INR 50.92 lakh | NZD 90,900 | Two 120-point units at the 2026 catalogue estimate |
| Student Services and Hardship fees | INR 1.44 lakh | NZD 2,569.60 | Two 120-point years at current rates |
| Studentsafe insurance | INR 1.01 lakh | NZD 1,798 | Two current annual preferred premiums |
| Wellington living plan | INR 29.13 lakh | NZD 52,000 | Two years at University's lower 52-week estimate |
| Fee Paying Student Visa | INR 0.48 lakh | NZD 850 | At visa application |
| Standard-route planning total | INR 82.98 lakh | NZD 148,117.60 | Before flights, housing deposits and course extras |
Immigration New Zealand's NZD 20,000 yearly maintenance requirement is only an evidence floor. The total uses the University's lower NZD 26,000 yearly estimate from its NZD 26,000 to NZD 42,900 range for each 52 weeks. Converted at NZD 1 = INR 56.0236 using New Zealand Inland Revenue's 15 July 2026 mid-month rate. INR figures are approximate and exclude bank spreads and transfer charges.
The exact international apply page did not display a fee. The subject catalogue publishes NZD 45,450 approximately per 120 points for 2026. Multiplying by two is a transparent planning calculation for the 240-point route, not a University-issued whole-programme quote or a 2027 tuition promise.
An approved 180-point entrant needs an individual fee quote. Simply multiplying the 120-point figure by 1.5 would be another calculation, and course mix may affect the actual invoice. The standard-route total does not apply after the School grants Part 1 exemption.
The VUW Postgraduate International Scholarship may contribute NZD 10,000 for an eligible new international student in either the 180-point or 240-point route. It is not deducted because assessment is competitive and occurs with the programme application.
Practicum travel, equipment, project expenses, flights, outward travel and accommodation deposits remain outside the total. The lower Wellington plan is NZD 26,000 per 52 weeks, while the University’s range reaches NZD 42,900. The separate visa evidence floor remains NZD 20,000 yearly.
The INR conversion follows Inland Revenue’s published overseas currency rate. It isn’t a 2027 University invoice.
Can an Indian applicant enter the WGTN Master of Data Science?
The standard route expects a recognised bachelor's degree majoring in Data Science, Computer Science or Statistics. The University recommends a B+ average or better for success but does not state B+ as the formal minimum. Indian qualifications are assessed individually because no universal percentage or CGPA conversion is published.
| Requirement | Published rule | What you do |
|---|---|---|
| Academic award (India) | Bachelor's major in Data Science, Computer Science or Statistics | Upload the complete award and transcript |
| Recommended performance (India) | B+ average or better is recommended, not stated as the formal minimum | Show strongest relevant quantitative courses |
| 180-point route (India) | Data Science major, or Statistics plus AI or Computer Science double major | Request written Part 1 exemption |
| India mapping (India) | No universal percentage or CGPA conversion published | Obtain individual equivalence assessment |
| English (India) | University postgraduate IELTS 6.5, no band below 6.0 | Current accepted result required or approved route |
| Alternative preparation (India) | Head of School may accept equivalent capability | Document extensive academic or professional preparation |
The standard route is designed for applicants who already have a relevant quantitative major. Statistics, programming and machine learning all appear in the degree, so a transcript should make mathematical and computational preparation easy to identify.
The Associate Dean may waive the degree requirement where extensive practical, professional or scholarly experience provides equivalent preparation. That is a discretionary route and does not guarantee the 180-point exemption, which has its own specific prior-major rule.
The exact programme page could not display English requirements when checked. The University-wide standard postgraduate table therefore supplies IELTS 6.5 with no band below 6.0 and the published TOEFL, PTE, Duolingo, Cambridge and approved prior-study alternatives.
The programme requirements and standard postgraduate English rules control the academic and language assessment. There’s no published universal Indian marks conversion.
Three route checks that change the application
A related degree does not automatically remove Part 1
The 180-point route is tied to specific completed majors. The one-year duration and reduced cost plan apply only after the School grants the exemption.B+ is recommended rather than stated as a formal minimum
Present the exact wording honestly. A strong result can support readiness, but the formal decision also depends on the major, quantitative preparation and Head of School assessment.Indian marks are not converted by a public formula
No official Indian percentage equivalent for B+ is published. Individual equivalence assessment uses the grading scale, full transcript and course detail.
How and when should an Indian student apply for the WGTN Master of Data Science?
The official application deadline is 7 December 2026 for the 22 February 2027 start. Before submission, ask the programme director whether your exact major qualifies for the 180-point route. A complete Puaha application includes certified passport, degree and transcript records, English evidence where required and a CV before submission through Puaha with a personal email address.
The programme director determines the correct route. The international Puaha application uses certified academic, identity and English documents, and every Offer of Place condition must be met before the visa application.
This intake now needs an individual readiness check. Applicants with English results and certified documents ready may still have time. Others should consider the next intake rather than rush an incomplete file.
| Start by | Task | Takes | Why this date |
|---|---|---|---|
| 25 Jun 2026 | Complete English evidence | 75 days | Allow preparation, result release and a possible retake. |
| 04 Aug 2026 | Programme decision on the 240-point or 180-point route | 35 days | Send the transcript and major structure to the programme director. |
| 11 Aug 2026 | Certify academic and identity records | 28 days | Prepare passport, award, transcript, CV and translations. |
| 08 Sep 2026 | Submit in Puaha | 90 days | Leave time for assessment, conditions, payment and visa processing. |
The allowances are Nbyula planning estimates, not processing times published by Te Herenga Waka: Victoria University of Wellington.
Route confirmation is the first practical step because it changes the duration from about two years to about one year. An Indian transcript should show the exact major or double-major structure, not only a list of related electives.
The practicum cannot be left until the final trimester. The School’s internship instructions require an application at least two trimesters ahead, 60 approved 400-level points before placement and 200 hours of work plus assessment and presentation.
The University says postgraduate decisions usually take 3 to 4 weeks, but extra academic review can take longer. After an offer, complete conditions, enrol, pay the required amount and prepare the visa evidence for tuition, living funds, outward travel, insurance, health and character.
The programme application page controls the intake date, while Immigration New Zealand makes the student visa decision.
What jobs and work rights can follow the WGTN Master of Data Science?
The University names data scientist, data analyst and statistician roles across government, technology, finance, health, insurance, banking, research and universities. It publishes no programme placement rate or graduate salary. The five-week practicum and qualitative host feedback are useful evidence of work preparation, not a guaranteed job outcome.
| Measure | Figure | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| Data scientist pay context | NZD 83,000 to 143,000 | Tahatū most-common occupation range, not starting pay. |
| Data analyst pay context | NZD 73,000 to 118,000 | Occupation range across experience levels. |
| Business intelligence analyst | NZD 87,000 to 133,000 | Adjacent-role context, not a programme outcome. |
| MDataSc placement rate | Not published | The review gives no cohort denominator or job conversion. |
| Student work | Up to 25 hours weekly if permitted | The eVisa conditions control. |
| Post-study work | Potentially up to 3 years | Current Level 9 and 30-week rules apply. |
Tahatū ranges describe occupations across experience levels. Practicum participation, qualitative host feedback and named graduate examples do not establish a placement percentage, starting salary, employer guarantee or residence outcome.
DATA 581 is a five-week, 200-hour practicum with an industry partner such as a consultancy, government agency or private company. The University does not publish a guaranteed host, payment term or job conversion. A 2025 review reports positive student and host feedback without a response count.
Flynn Owen is profiled as a Junior Data Scientist at Spotlight Reporting, but the page does not state when he graduated or whether the practicum caused the employment outcome. Named examples support possible routes, not a probability for the next cohort.
James MacDonald’s self-authored profile describes an R and C++ package implementing adaptive Monte Carlo and importance sampling. It is a genuinely technical example of research output, and it shows why roles beyond dashboard analytics may fit some study plans.
“Apply for this visa if you want to work in New Zealand soon after you have completed your studies here.” Immigration New Zealand
This is conditional permission, not an earnings plan. That doesn’t turn work rights or the post-study visa into a job guarantee.
How is Victoria University of Wellington ranked?
Victoria University of Wellington is joint 241st in QS World University Rankings 2027 and in the 401 to 500 band in Times Higher Education World University Rankings 2026. These institution-level figures do not rank the Master of Data Science, measure practicum quality or establish a graduate employment outcome.
| Publisher | Position | Table and year |
|---|---|---|
| QS | Joint 241st | World University Rankings 2027 |
| Times Higher Education | 401 to 500 | World University Rankings 2026 |
Who is the WGTN Master of Data Science for?
The best fit is a quantitatively prepared graduate who wants statistics, machine learning, research and supervised workplace exposure. It is a poor fit for someone assuming every relevant degree earns the 180-point exemption, needing a guaranteed host, or treating the data scientist title and upper occupation salary as automatic first outcomes.
| Verdict | Your background | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Strong fit | Data Science, Computer Science or Statistics graduate | These are the published standard-entry majors. |
| Strong fit | Applicant seeking practicum plus research | DATA 581 and the project routes provide both forms of assessed work. |
| Needs evidence | Applicant seeking the 180-point route | Only specific prior major combinations qualify for Part 1 exemption. |
| Needs evidence | Applicant balancing part-time employment | Named graduates describe challenge, debugging and difficulty balancing work. |
| Do not shortlist | Applicant needing a guaranteed placement company | The University publishes no named-host guarantee. |
| Do not shortlist | Applicant without quantitative and programming preparation | The curriculum begins with advanced statistics, computing and machine learning. |
The hidden planning issue is DATA 581 timing. Missing that step can disrupt the degree sequence even when academic admission is secure.
Three exact-programme accounts did not support one broad experience pattern. Marco Vieto Vega described heavy statistics, machine learning and late-night debugging. Senuri Yasara described difficulty balancing part-time work. James MacDonald demonstrated technical depth without making a workload claim.
The route choice should be settled before budgeting. A one-year exempt student has a different course load and cost from the standard two-year entrant, and neither route guarantees a data scientist title immediately after graduation.
What does the WGTN Master of Data Science curriculum contain?
The standard 240-point route completes 60 points in Part 1 and 180 points in Part 2. The 180-point route enters Part 2 directly. The current regulations include a practicum, research preparation, advanced data science, computational statistics, modelling, machine learning choices and one of several research-project structures.
Every published course requirement
| Code | Component | Points | Where it sits |
|---|---|---|---|
| AIML 420 | Artificial Intelligence | 15 | Part 1 option |
| AIML 421 | Programme regulation option | 15 | No current 2026 School offering published |
| DATA 471 | Practical Data Science | 15 | Part 1 option |
| DATA 472 | Data Management and Programming | 15 | Part 1 option |
| DATA 473 | Statistical Modelling for Data Science | 15 | Part 1 option |
| DATA 474 | Simulation and Stochastic Models | 15 | Part 1 option, not offered in 2026 |
| DATA 475 | Machine Learning Methods | 15 | Part 1 option |
| AIML 427 | Big Data | 15 | Compulsory Part 2 |
| AIML 425 | Neural Networks and Deep Learning | 15 | One AIML option required |
| AIML 426 | Evolutionary Computation and Learning | 15 | One AIML option required |
| AIML 429 | Probabilistic Machine Learning | 15 | One AIML option required |
| DATA 480 | Research Preparation for Data Science | 15 | Compulsory Part 2 |
| DATA 501 | Advanced Techniques in Data Science | 15 | Compulsory Part 2 |
| DATA 581 | Data Science Practicum | 30 | Compulsory unless approved DATA 588 substitution |
| STAT 432 | Computational Statistics | 15 | Compulsory Part 2 |
| STAT 438 | Generalised Linear Models | 15 | Compulsory Part 2 |
| DATA 487 | Research Project | 15 | 15-point project route |
| DATA 489 | Research Project | 30 | 30-point project route |
| DATA 588 | Research Project | 45 | May replace DATA 487 and DATA 581 with approval |
| Total | 240 |
- Part 1 requires 60 points from the published AIML and DATA list unless formally exempted
- Complete AIML 427 and one of AIML 425, AIML 426 or AIML 429
- Complete DATA 480, DATA 501, DATA 581, STAT 432 and STAT 438
- Complete DATA 487 with 45 further approved points, or DATA 489 with 30 further approved points
- With Head of School approval, DATA 588 may replace DATA 487 and DATA 581
The practicum is a curriculum requirement in the normal Part 2 route, not a published employment guarantee. It involves 200 workplace hours plus assignments and a presentation, and the School requires the student to begin the arrangement process two trimesters ahead.
The regulations still list AIML 421, but the 2026 School list does not publish a current offering. DATA 474 is explicitly not offered in 2026. These are important timetable constraints and should be checked against the 2027 course list before choosing Part 1.
The research choice changes the rest of the elective requirement. DATA 487 leaves 45 further approved points, DATA 489 leaves 30, while DATA 588 can replace both the small project and practicum only with Head of School approval.
The official study details and 2026 Calendar control the course list and route rules.
Should an Indian student shortlist the WGTN Master of Data Science?
Shortlist it if you want statistical depth, machine learning, a structured research component and a real five-week practicum. The main drawback is route uncertainty. The public fee is only per 120 points, Part 1 includes a course not offered in 2026, and the accelerated 180-point route is restricted to specific prior majors.
The programme is more than a generic analytics degree. Required work includes computational statistics, generalised linear models, research preparation, advanced data science and either a 15-point or 30-point project. A 2025 formal review reports positive qualitative feedback from students and hosts, but gives no employment rate or placement-to-job conversion.
The programme is unsuitable for applicants who need a guaranteed 12-month route, a named practicum host or a published graduate salary. The standard route is 240 points, practicum arrangements require early action, and the University publishes no programme placement rate. A budget based on the accelerated route before exemption approval is unsafe.
Before deciding, compare complete cost, admission fit, application timing and outcome evidence.
- The standard MDataSc is 240 points over about two years, while eligible prior majors may enter the 180-point route.
- The University shows NZD 45,450 approximately per 120 points for 2026, not a whole-programme fee.
- The standard-route planning total is about INR 82.98 lakh before variable exclusions.
- The official application deadline is 7 December 2026 for the 22 February 2027 start.
- DATA 581 is a 200-hour practicum that requires application at least two trimesters ahead.
- No programme placement rate, graduate salary or guaranteed practicum host is published.
Frequently asked questions
What is the total cost of the standard WGTN Master of Data Science?
The two-year standard-route plan is NZD 148,117.60, or about INR 82.98 lakh. It uses two 120-point units at the University's 2026 catalogue estimate, current compulsory levies, two insurance premiums, two lower 52-week Wellington living estimates and the visa charge. Flights, deposits and course extras remain separate.
Can the WGTN Master of Data Science be completed in one year?
Only some applicants can enter the 180-point Part 2 and finish in about 12 months. The published route requires a Data Science major, or a double major in Statistics and either Artificial Intelligence or Computer Science. Obtain written exemption confirmation before using the shorter duration or a reduced budget.
What marks does an Indian applicant need for the WGTN MDataSc?
The programme expects a relevant bachelor's major and recommends a B+ average or better for success, but does not state B+ as the formal minimum. No universal Indian percentage or CGPA conversion is published. The University assesses the institution, qualification, grading scale, major and relevant quantitative courses individually.
When is the WGTN Master of Data Science application deadline?
The exact international deadline is 7 December 2026 for the 22 February 2027 start. Apply earlier if route assessment is needed because the School must decide whether the transcript qualifies for Part 1 exemption. The academic offer must also leave enough time for payment and the student visa application.
What English score does the WGTN MDataSc require?
The exact programme page could not display English requirements when checked. The University-wide standard postgraduate rule is IELTS Academic 6.5 overall with no band below 6.0. It also publishes TOEFL, PTE, Duolingo, Cambridge and approved prior-study routes with separate component, validity and documentation conditions.
Is the DATA 581 practicum a guaranteed job placement?
No. DATA 581 is a five-week, 200-hour assessed practicum with an industry partner. Students must apply at least two trimesters ahead and complete the academic prerequisites. The University does not promise a named host, payment, job offer or placement-to-employment conversion for every student or cohort.
Which research-project routes are available in the WGTN MDataSc?
Students normally take DATA 487 for 15 points or DATA 489 for 30 points, with a corresponding 45 or 30 approved elective points. With Head of School approval, DATA 588 can replace DATA 487 and the DATA 581 practicum. That substitution is discretionary and materially changes the programme experience.
Can a WGTN MDataSc graduate get a Post Study Work Visa?
A completed Level 9 master's studied full-time in New Zealand for at least 30 weeks can currently support a Post Study Work Visa of up to three years. The graduate must meet the rules in force when applying. The visa does not guarantee a data job, a salary level or residence.
Sources
These sources support the programme, admission, cost, experience and immigration information used on this page.
Sources checked on August 27, 2026. This page plans for the February 2027 intake.
More programmes

Leave a Reply